We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but for cat lovers and cat art lovers only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kattenkabinet

Kattenkabinet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kattenkabinet to your Saves list
Kattenkabinet
Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great, but for cat lovers and cat art lovers only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the posters and artwork in this museum, but I can see where others might not be so inclined. Please only go to this museum if you are extremely interested in cats and cat art. This is also just a small museum, so don't expect hundreds of items. It's just an old house, 2 or 3 stories of small rooms with lots of cat posters and some cat sculptures and paintings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I are both Cat lover's so decided to visit this museum. I would have given the 3 but a price of 6 euro's seems so steep for this museum.

It is a small museum with interesting artifacts, ornaments and pictures and poster's of Cats. It is spread over three rooms. There we no descriptions or facts or anything written about cats anywhere in the museum, which was a disappointment.

My main bug bearer was the price, 6 euro's is very steep when you consider you can visit the houseboat museum for half the price, and it is a very similar experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beppu, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Do you remember the artwork of Al Stewart's 33rpm "Year Of The Cat"? Kattenkabinet will bring you to the same atmosphere. A wonderful little cat-themed museum that will bring a big smile on feline lovers’ faces. Beautifully decorated, arranged and last but not least, romantically located. If you are lucky, you can have some playful time with one of the three real cats (two young twins and a kind elegant 17 years old lady cat) who will greet you and sleep on your knees purring when you sit. They're the real stars of the place. :)
The lady at the counter is helpful, smiling and obviously loves cats.
For everyone who loves cats and art.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love Cas and was looking forward too visit that place!
I expected more than 3 rooms with an overcrowding of paintings, statues and different little things about Cats. That was sweet but not that interesting and we have only seen one little (and cute) cat... who has been scared by the screamings of the childs that live there with several other people! Dont you know that this was also the actual house of people? Now you do: everything is closed by "no access/Private" signs...
They said "5 rooms with art and cats blablabla" and i was ok to give 6€/person, but for in fact "3 very small rooms, a hallway and a souvenir shop" i will never have paid so much!
First time i am disappointed by something about Cats :( If you really love Cats, go to the Poezenboot: Its free, lots of cats and its for a good cause!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Paid 4.5 Eu. (discounted price with Amsterdam I-Card) should have been free, and there is not much to see. Only 1 floor with a few rooms of mostly artwork and posters of cats. I was expecting more and at least a few live cats to add to the experience. I asked where they were hiding, and was told that the 2 resident cats were away for the weekend.
Suggestion: get more live cats and add another floor. It is close to a main canal, and the Handbag museum, which I actually liked, even though I'm a guy and a cat lover, and was free with Amsterdam I Card as well as many other well know museums such as the Van Gogh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you love cats you have to visit this museum, it is tiny but very well decorated, it has some fine art about cats, some very old posters, statues and what not!! If you are lucky you will also get to see the sweet little 17 years old cat that belongs to the owner of the museum!! We own 3 cats so we were curious about this museum and it didn't disappoint us!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The house is spectacular and is filled with some wonderful cat inspired art. You may even get to meet one of the feline residents too...Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kattenkabinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kattenkabinet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.