We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6€ is far too expensive for what it really is.. and by the way: people are living there!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kattenkabinet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kattenkabinet to your Saves list
Kattenkabinet
Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“6€ is far too expensive for what it really is.. and by the way: people are living there!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love Cas and was looking forward too visit that place!
I expected more than 3 rooms with an overcrowding of paintings, statues and different little things about Cats. That was sweet but not that interesting and we have only seen one little (and cute) cat... who has been scared by the screamings of the childs that live there with several other people! Dont you know that this was also the actual house of people? Now you do: everything is closed by "no access/Private" signs...
They said "5 rooms with art and cats blablabla" and i was ok to give 6€/person, but for in fact "3 very small rooms, a hallway and a souvenir shop" i will never have paid so much!
First time i am disappointed by something about Cats :( If you really love Cats, go to the Poezenboot: Its free, lots of cats and its for a good cause!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadpolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Paid 4.5 Eu. (discounted price with Amsterdam I-Card) should have been free, and there is not much to see. Only 1 floor with a few rooms of mostly artwork and posters of cats. I was expecting more and at least a few live cats to add to the experience. I asked where they were hiding, and was told that the 2 resident cats were away for the weekend.
Suggestion: get more live cats and add another floor. It is close to a main canal, and the Handbag museum, which I actually liked, even though I'm a guy and a cat lover, and was free with Amsterdam I Card as well as many other well know museums such as the Van Gogh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetroter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you love cats you have to visit this museum, it is tiny but very well decorated, it has some fine art about cats, some very old posters, statues and what not!! If you are lucky you will also get to see the sweet little 17 years old cat that belongs to the owner of the museum!! We own 3 cats so we were curious about this museum and it didn't disappoint us!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The house is spectacular and is filled with some wonderful cat inspired art. You may even get to meet one of the feline residents too...Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#56 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kattenkabinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing