We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6€ is far too expensive for what it really is.. and by the way: people are living there!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kattenkabinet

Kattenkabinet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kattenkabinet to your Saves list
Kattenkabinet
Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“6€ is far too expensive for what it really is.. and by the way: people are living there!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love Cas and was looking forward too visit that place!
I expected more than 3 rooms with an overcrowding of paintings, statues and different little things about Cats. That was sweet but not that interesting and we have only seen one little (and cute) cat... who has been scared by the screamings of the childs that live there with several other people! Dont you know that this was also the actual house of people? Now you do: everything is closed by "no access/Private" signs...
They said "5 rooms with art and cats blablabla" and i was ok to give 6€/person, but for in fact "3 very small rooms, a hallway and a souvenir shop" i will never have paid so much!
First time i am disappointed by something about Cats :( If you really love Cats, go to the Poezenboot: Its free, lots of cats and its for a good cause!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Paid 4.5 Eu. (discounted price with Amsterdam I-Card) should have been free, and there is not much to see. Only 1 floor with a few rooms of mostly artwork and posters of cats. I was expecting more and at least a few live cats to add to the experience. I asked where they were hiding, and was told that the 2 resident cats were away for the weekend.
Suggestion: get more live cats and add another floor. It is close to a main canal, and the Handbag museum, which I actually liked, even though I'm a guy and a cat lover, and was free with Amsterdam I Card as well as many other well know museums such as the Van Gogh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you love cats you have to visit this museum, it is tiny but very well decorated, it has some fine art about cats, some very old posters, statues and what not!! If you are lucky you will also get to see the sweet little 17 years old cat that belongs to the owner of the museum!! We own 3 cats so we were curious about this museum and it didn't disappoint us!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The house is spectacular and is filled with some wonderful cat inspired art. You may even get to meet one of the feline residents too...Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kattenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kattenkabinet

Address: Herengracht 497, 1017 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kattenkabinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kattenkabinet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.