We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightwatch outside!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Mueseumhotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo Mueseumhotel
Save
You added Apollo Mueseumhotel to your Saves list
Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nightwatch outside!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Do you feel save knowing there is a nightwatch outside your hotel? Don't be to sure on this one, because the nightwatch is a painting! Not just a painting, but one of the most famous paintings on earth. And it is just around the corner! This hotel is not the best, but very close to the most important musea in Amsterdam: the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk museum of modern arts and the van Gogh museum. The hotel is not so expensive so be happy with a good bed in a modern room and a decent breakfast. But, the walls are bit thin.

Room Tip: A room at street side is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, and the en suite is a decent size. If you are in Amsterdam to see the city then you really don't need anything bigger than this. The beds were comfortable and the rooms cosy.

The location is excellent, very close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, away from the busier city centre. There's a good selection of restaurants very close by. Trams stop close to the hotel, but they work out quite expensive for a family of 4 so we avoided using them.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on the food, but the reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The only negative point is that we asked for adjacent rooms but were given rooms at opposite ends of a corridor. It didn't really matter so we didn't ask to change.

I'd certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below street level - probably a good idea to ask to be higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The reservation was for 3 nights, 2 single beds and the room was the Deluxe Quality room. The room number 318 that we were given was Standard, it wasn't clean and there was only 1 bed. The price for 3 nights, € 699 was not equal to the quality for this room and hotel. This experience was not the first bad one, two years ago around this time we were there as well and the heater in the room was out of order. The staff of this hotel was unwilling to help us solve the problem both times. If you want to spend time in the city without a negative experience, we can't recommend this hotel. Two bad experiences are not a coincidence. This hotel is really bad.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Right by the Vondelpark, the Rijksmuseum, nice cafes in nearby Albert Cuyp, Leidsplein, the tram to Centraal Station etc.. fantastic for that. It was clean. BUT... a miniature room.. VERY cold (heard lots of other guests complaining about this too), no kettle in room, very expensive drinks (bottled water four times the normal price). However, the worst thing by far was the smell from the tiny bathroom. A bad drain smell emulated from the pipes, which were also noisy. I'm sure this isn't healthy. It really was evident, and pretty foul. Personally, I wouldn't revisit this hotel, until I was confident they'd resolved this. Yuk.

Room Tip: Most of the beds are twins pushed together with a big gap in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great choice if you are looking for a hotel in a good location and want a solid value. The hotel and room are fairly basic, but good enough if you are going to be spending most of your time sightseeing or in business meetings. Please keep in mind there is no fitness center, but Vondelpark is very close if you would like to get in a run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in august 2013 with a girlfriend. We booked online so got a fantastic deal for 4 nights. The room was clean, modern and super comfortable for 2. Take tram 2 or 5 from the centraal station and get off at the hooberstrat station. You will catch a glimpse of the iamsterdam sign in front of you. Walk away so that the sign is directly behind you, take a right at the g straw store. The hotel is at the end of the street on your left. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel last week (june 2013) and were really surprised to see a modern, new , and well organised hotel.

The front desk were very nice and helped us with every inquiry we had.

THE ROOM-
A bit small, but it didn't really matter because we had enough space for every thing we traveled with.. there was a flat screen TV (american shows!!) mini bar..closet.. A double bed which
had a night stand next to each side of it.

BATHROOM-
We had a room with no bath. but the shower was big enough for two people.
the bathroom looked modern and new and even though it was only a glass door that separated
the bathroom from the room, we didn't really care and the glass wasn't really see through.

PROBLEMS-
1. our mattress was sinking heavily (bad springs..) and wasn't comfortable.
when we told the front desk they told us that they were in a middle of replacing all the mattresses. ill take that....
2. we had low pressure in the shower head which was frustrating. the front desk told us that maybe we showered In the peak hour when most people showered but that wasn't the case because we took showers in different times during the day. -make sure you get good water running before taking the room.

LOCATION-
20 minute walk from DAM square.. 5 minutes from van gogh
museum..4 minutes walk from vondel park. excellent location!

Very recommended For couples.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the basement. Make sure the bed is a real double bed and not two combined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#160 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#198 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam
#224 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#120 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Mueseumhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Mueseumhotel

Address: Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 182

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Mueseumhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.