We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Mueseumhotel

Apollo Mueseumhotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo Mueseumhotel
Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, and the en suite is a decent size. If you are in Amsterdam to see the city then you really don't need anything bigger than this. The beds were comfortable and the rooms cosy.

The location is excellent, very close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, away from the busier city centre. There's a good selection of restaurants very close by. Trams stop close to the hotel, but they work out quite expensive for a family of 4 so we avoided using them.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on the food, but the reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The only negative point is that we asked for adjacent rooms but were given rooms at opposite ends of a corridor. It didn't really matter so we didn't ask to change.

I'd certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below street level - probably a good idea to ask to be higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The reservation was for 3 nights, 2 single beds and the room was the Deluxe Quality room. The room number 318 that we were given was Standard, it wasn't clean and there was only 1 bed. The price for 3 nights, € 699 was not equal to the quality for this room and hotel. This experience was not the first bad one, two years ago around this time we were there as well and the heater in the room was out of order. The staff of this hotel was unwilling to help us solve the problem both times. If you want to spend time in the city without a negative experience, we can't recommend this hotel. Two bad experiences are not a coincidence. This hotel is really bad.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Right by the Vondelpark, the Rijksmuseum, nice cafes in nearby Albert Cuyp, Leidsplein, the tram to Centraal Station etc.. fantastic for that. It was clean. BUT... a miniature room.. VERY cold (heard lots of other guests complaining about this too), no kettle in room, very expensive drinks (bottled water four times the normal price). However, the worst thing by far was the smell from the tiny bathroom. A bad drain smell emulated from the pipes, which were also noisy. I'm sure this isn't healthy. It really was evident, and pretty foul. Personally, I wouldn't revisit this hotel, until I was confident they'd resolved this. Yuk.

Room Tip: Most of the beds are twins pushed together with a big gap in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great choice if you are looking for a hotel in a good location and want a solid value. The hotel and room are fairly basic, but good enough if you are going to be spending most of your time sightseeing or in business meetings. Please keep in mind there is no fitness center, but Vondelpark is very close if you would like to get in a run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in august 2013 with a girlfriend. We booked online so got a fantastic deal for 4 nights. The room was clean, modern and super comfortable for 2. Take tram 2 or 5 from the centraal station and get off at the hooberstrat station. You will catch a glimpse of the iamsterdam sign in front of you. Walk away so that the sign is directly behind you, take a right at the g straw store. The hotel is at the end of the street on your left. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel last week (june 2013) and were really surprised to see a modern, new , and well organised hotel.

The front desk were very nice and helped us with every inquiry we had.

THE ROOM-
A bit small, but it didn't really matter because we had enough space for every thing we traveled with.. there was a flat screen TV (american shows!!) mini bar..closet.. A double bed which
had a night stand next to each side of it.

BATHROOM-
We had a room with no bath. but the shower was big enough for two people.
the bathroom looked modern and new and even though it was only a glass door that separated
the bathroom from the room, we didn't really care and the glass wasn't really see through.

PROBLEMS-
1. our mattress was sinking heavily (bad springs..) and wasn't comfortable.
when we told the front desk they told us that they were in a middle of replacing all the mattresses. ill take that....
2. we had low pressure in the shower head which was frustrating. the front desk told us that maybe we showered In the peak hour when most people showered but that wasn't the case because we took showers in different times during the day. -make sure you get good water running before taking the room.

LOCATION-
20 minute walk from DAM square.. 5 minutes from van gogh
museum..4 minutes walk from vondel park. excellent location!

Very recommended For couples.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the basement. Make sure the bed is a real double bed and not two combined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. Incredible deals can be found at this hotel and its location is so wonderful. Close to the Rijkesmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Leidsoplein, Hard Rock Café and many many more!
The rooms are small but typical size for Europe, they are very clean and well appointed. I was acting as tour guide for my Aunt and Uncle and they had a standard double room and I had a single room. Just perfect for us. The breakfast is good with many options, not too much on the hot side but what they have is good.
After getting caught in a huge rain storm and returning to the hotel drenched and freezing we did not want to go out to find something to eat. The choices at the bar are not very good but at least we had that option and therefore could avoid more rain!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apollo Mueseumhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Mueseumhotel

Address: Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Mueseumhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apollo Mueseumhotel to your Saves list