We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but just somewhere to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Mueseumhotel

Apollo Mueseumhotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apollo Mueseumhotel
Save Saved
You added Apollo Mueseumhotel to your Saves list
Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, but just somewhere to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Right by the Vondelpark, the Rijksmuseum, nice cafes in nearby Albert Cuyp, Leidsplein, the tram to Centraal Station etc.. fantastic for that. It was clean. BUT... a miniature room.. VERY cold (heard lots of other guests complaining about this too), no kettle in room, very expensive drinks (bottled water four times the normal price). However, the worst thing by far was the smell from the tiny bathroom. A bad drain smell emulated from the pipes, which were also noisy. I'm sure this isn't healthy. It really was evident, and pretty foul. Personally, I wouldn't revisit this hotel, until I was confident they'd resolved this. Yuk.

Room Tip: Most of the beds are twins pushed together with a big gap in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great choice if you are looking for a hotel in a good location and want a solid value. The hotel and room are fairly basic, but good enough if you are going to be spending most of your time sightseeing or in business meetings. Please keep in mind there is no fitness center, but Vondelpark is very close if you would like to get in a run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in august 2013 with a girlfriend. We booked online so got a fantastic deal for 4 nights. The room was clean, modern and super comfortable for 2. Take tram 2 or 5 from the centraal station and get off at the hooberstrat station. You will catch a glimpse of the iamsterdam sign in front of you. Walk away so that the sign is directly behind you, take a right at the g straw store. The hotel is at the end of the street on your left. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel last week (june 2013) and were really surprised to see a modern, new , and well organised hotel.

The front desk were very nice and helped us with every inquiry we had.

THE ROOM-
A bit small, but it didn't really matter because we had enough space for every thing we traveled with.. there was a flat screen TV (american shows!!) mini bar..closet.. A double bed which
had a night stand next to each side of it.

BATHROOM-
We had a room with no bath. but the shower was big enough for two people.
the bathroom looked modern and new and even though it was only a glass door that separated
the bathroom from the room, we didn't really care and the glass wasn't really see through.

PROBLEMS-
1. our mattress was sinking heavily (bad springs..) and wasn't comfortable.
when we told the front desk they told us that they were in a middle of replacing all the mattresses. ill take that....
2. we had low pressure in the shower head which was frustrating. the front desk told us that maybe we showered In the peak hour when most people showered but that wasn't the case because we took showers in different times during the day. -make sure you get good water running before taking the room.

LOCATION-
20 minute walk from DAM square.. 5 minutes from van gogh
museum..4 minutes walk from vondel park. excellent location!

Very recommended For couples.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the basement. Make sure the bed is a real double bed and not two combined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. Incredible deals can be found at this hotel and its location is so wonderful. Close to the Rijkesmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Leidsoplein, Hard Rock Café and many many more!
The rooms are small but typical size for Europe, they are very clean and well appointed. I was acting as tour guide for my Aunt and Uncle and they had a standard double room and I had a single room. Just perfect for us. The breakfast is good with many options, not too much on the hot side but what they have is good.
After getting caught in a huge rain storm and returning to the hotel drenched and freezing we did not want to go out to find something to eat. The choices at the bar are not very good but at least we had that option and therefore could avoid more rain!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armitage Staffs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel location was perfect, close to bars and restaurants, the bus stop and the canal bus and other boat tours, the hotel itself is a different matter. We were told on arrival that the hotel was full so we had been upgraded for free. We were put in a below ground floor level Twin bed room. The beds were pushed together. The room was freezing. There was no tea or coffee making facility in the room and no ironing facility either. If we wanted tea & coffee making facilities we had to request them in the bar, which we did and were told they had all been given out for the evening and there were not enough for every room. We went out for the evening and when we got back one had been delivered. We had a shower. It was a very unpleasant experience because as soon as you opened the shower door you were frozen by the cold air. The memory foam mattresses on the beds had amnesia and were saggy and uncomfortable so half way through the night we took the mattresses off the bed and slept on th base which seemed to be one of these pull out beds that has a mattress built in. It was a lot more comfortable. One of the mattresses was blood stained. On day 3 we left the credit card type room key in the slot by the door and just took one out with us, we put the do not disturb sign on the door and closed the curtains when we got back in that night the room was actually warm. This hotel is a lot cheaper than some in this area. We overcame the problems we had with the room so knowing the sort of problems we would encounter we would stay here again but I would pay the 25 euro's per night to upgrade to a deluxe room because it would still be cheaper than staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafing, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Last 2 weeks I spend in 2 Best Western hotels in Amsterdam: Blue Square and Apollo Museum.
I'm really astonished how come those 2 hotels which basically cost the same can be rated even close to each other on trip advisor.
I'll put here a short comparison of those 2 hotels.

Exterior:
- Blue Square - this is the biggest problem of this hotel. It looks from outside as a cheap hostel, definitely not as Best Western Plus
- Apollo - nice, old building enlighten in the evening as a tourist attraction

Interior:
- Blue Square - little better than outside but the image of hostel is still present, way too much plastic used
- Apollo - looks just good, not too fancy, not to ascetic.

Room:
- Blue Square - the room is bigger than in Apollo but it looks old (not in good way) and cheap, the bathroom wasn't exactly clean (it was not dirty but it needs some cleaning which you don't do every day - f.e. fugues). I don't know who designed the layout in bathroom but to take toilet paper when you seat on the toilet requires acrobatic skills.
- Apollo - the room is quite small (at least the one I got) but what you can expect from old building. The room design is really nice - you can feel Scandinavian touch in the design here. Bathroom also looks much better than the one at Blue Square. It's equipped with thermostatic shower mixer. The only pain point here is water leaking on the floor from the shower (it wasn't broken it's just made this way).

Entertainment:
- Blue Square - really good internet connection and not-bad TV
- Apollo - the internet was sometimes very slow (you need to pay 8EUR extra per day if you want faster internet), more TV channels than in Blue Square (f.e. Discover or ComedyCentral - both in Dutch version but 99% of the time it's still in English with just Dutch subtitles)

Location:
- Blue Square - you really need to use a public transport to get to the town, it's way too far to walk
- Apollo - basically at the start of old town, few meters from HardRock Caffee

Parking:
- Blue Square - own underground parking for 15 EUR a day
- Apollo - no own parking, you can on the street right outside of the hotel (no problems to find parking places) or in underground parking 300m away. Both will cost you more than 15 EUR for sure (4EUR/h 9-24 during week).

Price:
both hotels costs ~60EUR per night with breakfast paid separately (~10EUR).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Mueseumhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Mueseumhotel

Address: Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Mueseumhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.