We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too intense” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EYE Film Institute Netherlands

EYE Film Institute Netherlands
IJpromenade 1 | Museum Quarter, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31(0)20-5891400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: EYE Filmmuseum is the Dutch centre for film culture and heritage. On april 5 2012 EYE opened the doors of a futuristic building on the banks of the river IJ right next to Amsterdam's Central station. A free ferry service runs right at the back of the train station and takes you across in less than 3 minutes (24/7).The EYE building was designed by Delugan & Meissl Associated architects from Austria and is freely accessible. It holds 4 screening rooms that showcase a wide variety of films, from historical classics to the latest arthouse premieres. There is a 1200m2 exhibtion space with 4 changing exhibtions every year.There is a large terrace with a spectaculair view over Amsterdam. The bar and restaurant are open 7 days a week from 10.00pm to 01.00am.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Too intense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Do check on what the theme is on during your visit. As when we visited the historical documentaries on the Indonasia- Netherland connect were playing in various foreign languages. Place is a visual delight, with a large cafe sit-out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    14
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I liked the building and I think it's a fine place to be but you only can pay with creditcard in the shop and for the film , we didn't knew that so coudn't do anything there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible! Is this how you treat CINEMA in The Netherlands???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

As a frequent traveller to The Netherlands, and somebody who is truly interested in Cinema, this "EYE MUSEUM" was by far my biggest disappointment! I have been to many Film Institutes in the United States, Paris, Brussels,... and this "film institute" was truly sad. I was very interested in checking their library and collection, and to my big surprise this was only available in three sad computers in the basement. There you can check the catalogue. To check the collection you need to contact some email maybe on a tuesday and maybe they are available, and it is placed outside Amsterdam. In other words, the public is not allowed (lets put it like this) access to it. What kind of Film Institute does not take its collection and library seriously? This EYE MUSEUM seems to be only a RESTAURANT in a modern looking building and a GIFT SHOP! There was NO PLACE in this huge building to have the most precious thing of a National Film Institute??? Extremely sad, The Netherlands really disappointed me on this very important cultural issue.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sensational building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beautiful space inside and out. Really enjoyed the Quay Brothers exhibition as well as the snacks and drinks in the hip modern cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby de la zouch
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a triumph of architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Spotted this place as it was featured in our hotel room magazine.
Wow, it was one of the highlights of our visit. My 11 year old grand daughter learned the meaning of PERSPECTIVE.
The design of the building plays with your head. It is stunning.
There was an impressive dinner menu, but we had a selection of delicious snacks, whilst enjoying the lights of Amsterdam reflected in the huge canal behind the station.
Use the free ferry boat with the locals and dogs and bicycles.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EYE Film Institute Netherlands also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to EYE Film Institute Netherlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EYE Film Institute Netherlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added EYE Film Institute Netherlands to your Saves list