We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good company” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Music Theatre / Dutch National Opera & Ballet

The Music Theatre / Dutch National Opera & Ballet
Waterlooplein 22 | P.O. Box 16822, 1011 PG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 551 8293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 565 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Opera & Ballet is the foremost institution for opera and ballet in the heart of Amsterdam. As the largest cultural institution in our land, National Opera & Ballet brings all aspects of the ballet & opera-world's artistry, technique & craftsmanship together with its own specialised workshops & rehearsal rooms. Follow a tour in the building or enjoy one of the opera or ballet performances.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
354 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Consistently good company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The National Ballet is based in the Muziektheater in Amsterdam. I've been to many productions of this company and always enjoyed them. Perhaps the standard is not quite the best I've seen (I think the Royal Ballet in London for example is better), but it is still very high. Moreover, the prices are very reasonable, so I can go as often as I like.

The Muziektheater is a pleasant environment to watch ballet. It is located near the centre of the city and is easily accessed via public transport. I always enjoy the view over the Amstel when having a glass of wine during the interval.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Allways perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The great performers (National Ballet, Dutch Opera house etc.) for ballet and opera are allways here and a visit to the Stopera (the other name for the Musictheater) is allways value for money. Try to make a reservation in time, so that you have a good place in the theatre. This theatre is almost any time sold out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ballet at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not only the ensemble but also the choreographie are again and again of high quality...creative and simply a pleasure to see, enjoy and admire!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Affordable opera and ballet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Going to the opera and ballet is not the realm of the elite in Amsterdam. Tickets are cheaper than many rock concerts. Not as cheap as eastern parts of europe but still great. I went to the ballet and found men not in tie. This was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Dance Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I attended two performances of this company in our visit this September. The performance hall is conveniently located in the middle of the city. The seats were comfortable and the sight lines excellent. The quite varied pieces we saw over two nights were performed with the highest level of perfection. The live orchestra was excellent. If you like ballet you will enjoy seeing this company during a visit to Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Music Theatre / Dutch National Opera & Ballet also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Music Theatre / Dutch National Opera & Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Music Theatre / Dutch National Opera & Ballet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.