We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ballet at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera

Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera
Waterlooplein 22 | P.O. Box 16822, 1011 PG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 551 8293+31 20 551 8293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Theaters, Ballets, Operas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: National Opera & Ballet is the foremost institution for opera and ballet in the heart of Amsterdam. As the largest cultural institution in our land, National Opera & Ballet brings all aspects of the ballet & opera-world's artistry, technique & craftsmanship together with its own specialised workshops & rehearsal rooms. Follow a tour in the building or enjoy one of the opera or ballet performances.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ballet at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not only the ensemble but also the choreographie are again and again of high quality...creative and simply a pleasure to see, enjoy and admire!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Affordable opera and ballet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Going to the opera and ballet is not the realm of the elite in Amsterdam. Tickets are cheaper than many rock concerts. Not as cheap as eastern parts of europe but still great. I went to the ballet and found men not in tie. This was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Dance Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I attended two performances of this company in our visit this September. The performance hall is conveniently located in the middle of the city. The seats were comfortable and the sight lines excellent. The quite varied pieces we saw over two nights were performed with the highest level of perfection. The live orchestra was excellent. If you like ballet you will enjoy seeing this company during a visit to Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Architecturally debateable outside, the venue is superb inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love that Amsterdam is so serious about its cmmitment to the arts that City Hall is in the same building as the National Opera & National Ballet! Love or hate the exterior of the red brick and white(ish) marble it is a wonderful place to spend the evening if you are lucky enough to get tickets.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful ballet perofrmance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place was just next to the river . Easy access by tram from Main station .

My family with two teens , watched the ballet group performing " Romeo and Juliet ". The seats feel very comfortable and we enjoy the performances very much .

As for the building I would rate it good .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.