We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dance Company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera

Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera
Waterlooplein 22 | P.O. Box 16822, 1011 PG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 551 8293+31 20 551 8293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Ballets, Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Opera & Ballet is the foremost institution for opera and ballet in the heart of Amsterdam. As the largest cultural institution in our land, National Opera & Ballet brings all aspects of the ballet & opera-world's artistry, technique & craftsmanship together with its own specialised workshops & rehearsal rooms. Follow a tour in the building or enjoy one of the opera or ballet performances.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Dance Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I attended two performances of this company in our visit this September. The performance hall is conveniently located in the middle of the city. The seats were comfortable and the sight lines excellent. The quite varied pieces we saw over two nights were performed with the highest level of perfection. The live orchestra was excellent. If you like ballet you will enjoy seeing this company during a visit to Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Architecturally debateable outside, the venue is superb inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love that Amsterdam is so serious about its cmmitment to the arts that City Hall is in the same building as the National Opera & National Ballet! Love or hate the exterior of the red brick and white(ish) marble it is a wonderful place to spend the evening if you are lucky enough to get tickets.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful ballet perofrmance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place was just next to the river . Easy access by tram from Main station .

My family with two teens , watched the ballet group performing " Romeo and Juliet ". The seats feel very comfortable and we enjoy the performances very much .

As for the building I would rate it good .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Super high quality opera!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to this concert room many, many times. I have seen many operas. The quality is always very good. They always find the perfect soloists. The directing is always creative and often quite modern.
The atmosphere is nice!
Highly recommended!!! When you love opera and go to Amsterdam you must go there!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A wonderful finish to our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I attended a performance here of Romeo & Juliet by the National Ballet on our last night in Amsterdam. What a wonderful ending to a specular vacation. The seats where in the 2nd balcony and we had a perfect view of the stage and the seat very very comfortable especially with 2 intermissions and a 3 hour performance. Superb!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Muziektheater / Nationale Ballet & Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.