We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the circus in a building built especially for circuses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-25 | Grachtengordel: East, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
31 20 622 5225
Update attraction details
Ranked #14 of 296 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved the circus in a building built especially for circuses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Theatre Carre was built to house circuses, and we were thrilled by the Wereld Kerst Circus (World Christmas Circus) that featured acts from acrooss the world - an brilliant American clown (Belo), breath-taking trapeze artists from North Korea, an amzing Italian ventriloquist and other acts from Russia, Vietnam, Italy and China.

This review, however, is about the venue.

Koninklijk Theater Carre is a stunningly gorgeous building on the banks of the River Amstel in eastern Amsterdam. It provides steeply tiered seating overlooking a 'theatre in the round'. Seats are very comfortable (although leg room is bit cramped). Access to the theatre and the ability to exit quickly is outstanding. Seats are on four levels and there are both stairs and lifts. Reastaurants and bars operate on most levels and there are enough cloak rooms to deal with demand quickly and efficiently.

Above all, this is a beautiful building that achieves its purpose efficiently.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic theater with great seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were fortunate to buy tickets at the last minute for the final showing of Amsterdam's Winter Circus. This was the 29th year of the circus. We are so glad that we did not miss this amazing show. With approximately 12 acts and an intermission, the 3 hours flew by, leaving us wanting more. Though we were in the second to last row, due to the late purchase of the tickets, our view was amazing. We would most definitely see the Winter Circus again or any other production for that matter in the Carre Theater. The interior is beautiful and the view is amazing from any seat in the house. Check out their schedule before leaving home and book tickets for a production while you are in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Carre Circus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would rate the Circus Carre as nothing less than excellent. We saw the show on the 01 Jan 2014, sat in Loge 10 and paid 57 euros per seat. The spectacle of about 12 different acts was wonderful. It was like being a kid again. If you are in Amsterdam going to the Carre is a must.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great historic theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This theatre is beautiful and also the right size (not too big). I went to the musical West Side Story and the sound was also good. I would recommend going to this theatre over something like the Circustheatre in Scheveningen, this one has true history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic theatre with a history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a very beautiful theatre and it is 175 years old.
It's a Royal Theatre featuring the best artists from the Netherlands as well as from other countries.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.