We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic theater with great seating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-125 | Grachtengordel: East, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
0900 25 25 255 / +31 20 52 49 452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic theater with great seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were fortunate to buy tickets at the last minute for the final showing of Amsterdam's Winter Circus. This was the 29th year of the circus. We are so glad that we did not miss this amazing show. With approximately 12 acts and an intermission, the 3 hours flew by, leaving us wanting more. Though we were in the second to last row, due to the late purchase of the tickets, our view was amazing. We would most definitely see the Winter Circus again or any other production for that matter in the Carre Theater. The interior is beautiful and the view is amazing from any seat in the house. Check out their schedule before leaving home and book tickets for a production while you are in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    67
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Carre Circus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would rate the Circus Carre as nothing less than excellent. We saw the show on the 01 Jan 2014, sat in Loge 10 and paid 57 euros per seat. The spectacle of about 12 different acts was wonderful. It was like being a kid again. If you are in Amsterdam going to the Carre is a must.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great historic theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This theatre is beautiful and also the right size (not too big). I went to the musical West Side Story and the sound was also good. I would recommend going to this theatre over something like the Circustheatre in Scheveningen, this one has true history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic theatre with a history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a very beautiful theatre and it is 175 years old.
It's a Royal Theatre featuring the best artists from the Netherlands as well as from other countries.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This theatre, originally built as a circus, has a very nice atmosfere and has very good perfomrances. Visit the balcony and have e great view on the river Amstel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.