We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circus Stilletto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-125 | Grachtengordel: East, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
0900 25 25 255 / +31 20 52 49 452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 534 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
England
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Circus Stilletto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went on a Friday night and managed to get tickets. The actual theatre is quite cosy and your not to far from the stage. The show was three hours long not two hours as someone said in another review. There were seven acts and yes of differing quality. Quick change artist was excellent, juggler fun to watch, the two headed guy puzzling, yes the dancers and singers varied in quality but it was not like watching the X factor and painful to the ears and eyes.

But the final act was spectacular and worth the prize of admission. The singing, dancing was entertaining and we all enjoyed it and given the main star Ellen did the show with a broken elbow she got from a previous performance it was in the best tradition of the show must go on. If you are in Amsterdam and want to get good value for a ticket I would recommend the Carre Theatre.

One tip during the intermission go up to the top and get a drink and if you are there in the evening you get a great view of the Amstel river in lights.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    72
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Circus Stiletto”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were very disappointed with this circus. There were 7 short circus acts and over 2 hours of singing and dancing. The choreography and dancing were aggressively average and there was barely any circus. The juggler and the acrobats were good, but the rest of the show was just padding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful (Circus) Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to the magician show of Hans Klok. The theatre has a good stage view wherever you sit. Acoustics are great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really an outstanding evening out, we visited the Hans Klok show and for entertainment Carre is the best place to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
322 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Wonderful theatre, and performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this for a performance during our visit to Amsterdam, primary to see and admire the decorative theatre interior. But I must say the Hans Klok show was very entertaining and thrilling in parts.

The theatre is lovely, both the façade and the auditorium. Not knowing anything about the performer, my expectations of the show itself were medium to say the least. However it more than exceeded those. Some of the escapades and tricks were thrilling and intriguing. It was great value, being about three hours long.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.