We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circus Stiletto” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-125 | Grachtengordel: East, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)
+31 900 2525255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Circus Stiletto”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were very disappointed with this circus. There were 7 short circus acts and over 2 hours of singing and dancing. The choreography and dancing were aggressively average and there was barely any circus. The juggler and the acrobats were good, but the rest of the show was just padding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    74
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful (Circus) Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to the magician show of Hans Klok. The theatre has a good stage view wherever you sit. Acoustics are great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really an outstanding evening out, we visited the Hans Klok show and for entertainment Carre is the best place to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
434 reviews
348 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Wonderful theatre, and performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this for a performance during our visit to Amsterdam, primary to see and admire the decorative theatre interior. But I must say the Hans Klok show was very entertaining and thrilling in parts.

The theatre is lovely, both the façade and the auditorium. Not knowing anything about the performer, my expectations of the show itself were medium to say the least. However it more than exceeded those. Some of the escapades and tricks were thrilling and intriguing. It was great value, being about three hours long.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful and elegant . Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Carre has and is always been a beautiful theater. The shows Carre offers varies from concerts of famous artists to circusshows. We've enjoyed many shows here with our kids and friends. THe building has been renovated a few years back and now you can enjoy Carre in all it's glory. Lush red velvet everywhere, great sound and good lighting. There isn't really a bad seat in the house. But I do recommend to buy tickets for second row seats, because its almost as good as first row for a good price. The theater is clean, staff is very well dressed and friendly. You can park the car in the nearby parking garages or along the waterside. But it's also easy to travel with public transit. Carre is a wonderful theater for a night out or to celebrate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.