We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and elegant . Great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-125 | Grachtengordel: East, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
0900 25 25 255 / +31 20 52 49 452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 339 Activities in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful and elegant . Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Carre has and is always been a beautiful theater. The shows Carre offers varies from concerts of famous artists to circusshows. We've enjoyed many shows here with our kids and friends. THe building has been renovated a few years back and now you can enjoy Carre in all it's glory. Lush red velvet everywhere, great sound and good lighting. There isn't really a bad seat in the house. But I do recommend to buy tickets for second row seats, because its almost as good as first row for a good price. The theater is clean, staff is very well dressed and friendly. You can park the car in the nearby parking garages or along the waterside. But it's also easy to travel with public transit. Carre is a wonderful theater for a night out or to celebrate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    70
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breukelen Ut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre with homey feel and superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Royal Carré Theatre in Amsterdam is ideally located at the banks of the river Amstel. An easy stroll (or public transport) will get you there. We watched a musical in this theatre and we thoroughly enjoyed the homey feel that this theatre gives you. The sound and vision are very well as are the services (drinks, bathrooms). The building is beautiful inside and out. We went to 'HEMA the musical' and that really was a hoot! We will definately go to the Royal Carré Theatre again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Carre, one of Amsterdam’s famous theaters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is one of the famous Amsterdam theaters, hosting many shows and theatrical events throughout the year.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Carnegie Hall of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have seen some concerts here - one of the highlights was Madre Deus and Fela!. Because of the superb ambience and acoustics of the place, many live videos have been shot here. One case in point - a concert of Buena Vista Social Club.

I had the great fortune to perform there in September last year, along with 1,000 voices. It was totally a capella and the acoustics were so great that it was a treat.

The place has been fully refurbished for its 125th anniversary in December 2013. So it looks and sounds amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Most beautiful theatre in Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the most prestious and beautiful theatre in Holland right on the edge of the canals. The performances range from classic theatre and music to circus. Pick your favourite and have a great night out. Pre-performance dinners can be had in the theatre itself if you book well beforehand - otherwise next door restaurants make sure you are fed and on time for the curtain.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.