We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Carnegie Hall of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koninklijk Theater Carre

Koninklijk Theater Carre
Amstel 115-125 | Grachtengordel: East, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 900 2525255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 568 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Carnegie Hall of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have seen some concerts here - one of the highlights was Madre Deus and Fela!. Because of the superb ambience and acoustics of the place, many live videos have been shot here. One case in point - a concert of Buena Vista Social Club.

I had the great fortune to perform there in September last year, along with 1,000 voices. It was totally a capella and the acoustics were so great that it was a treat.

The place has been fully refurbished for its 125th anniversary in December 2013. So it looks and sounds amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    73
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Most beautiful theatre in Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the most prestious and beautiful theatre in Holland right on the edge of the canals. The performances range from classic theatre and music to circus. Pick your favourite and have a great night out. Pre-performance dinners can be had in the theatre itself if you book well beforehand - otherwise next door restaurants make sure you are fed and on time for the curtain.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Charming and Beautiful Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was lucky to see Eddie Vedder perform here. An amazing venue! Very comfortable seats, and great acoustics.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A circus theather ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Officially opened as a circus theather but when i was there, I dont see any hint of it being one before. If it was a circus theater before, then it must have been the most beautiful circus theater in the world.
This theater deserves all the great review here in tripadvisor. A must see in Amsterdam if you love theater. I have visited this theater at least 10x and every time, I am still amazed buy the chadeliers and just the atmosphere.
During the breaks, you also have a great view of the River Amstel while having your champange or any beverage for that matter.
The only thing not so nice was the smoke on the balcony from the cigarette smokers. They should not allow smoking there as well. We all have the right to enjoy the view from the balcony indeed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Like the name suggests: ROYAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

An awesome building - classic in the best sense of the word. Whenever you have to chance to watch a performance here - go there - the atmosphere and acoustics are phenomenal. Only the best are allowed to get on this stage.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koninklijk Theater Carre also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koninklijk Theater Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koninklijk Theater Carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.