We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the ribs their awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Maria

De Maria
Rembrandtplein 38, 1017cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-5287377
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,329 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat the ribs their awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great food reasonably priced super portions not 1 of us cleared our plates.
Easy going staff totally enjiyable experience


  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had read that restaurants in Rembrandt Square were mostly overpriced tourist traps, so was not planning to try any of them on a recent trip to Amsterdam. However due to cold weather we didn't want to go too far from our hotel and gave De Maria a go. Turned out to be a pleasant little restaurant with good service. But the best surprise was the steak, it was probably some of the nicest steak we have ever had, great flavour, tender and cooked just right.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My bf and I went here for an evening meal during a 3 day break to Amsterdam (stayed at Eden Hotel).
We were attracted to the rustic, traditional-looking appearance, and the price of the food on the menus outside, being slightly overshadowed by the other surrounding, bigger restaurants, and also by the fact that you didn't have anyone breathing down your neck as soon as you were seen looking at the menu, explaining the Specials - something that usually puts us off - De Maria obviously has a good reputation and has no need to pressure people to choose it in this way.
So t he inside was lovely - had character, romantic atmosphere and smiles from the waiters/waitress as soon as you walked in. We sat near the food prep area/bar - I always think it's good to have an open cooking area, which shows confidence in the chefs and so that you can see your food being made in front of your very eyes.
We ordered the meat patties to start, which were really tasty but not much filling. My bf then ordered the ribs, which he had seen on someone else's table as we walked through to be seated - you got so much for your money, plus chips and salad. I think they were around 10-12EUROS - well worth it - my bf was stuffed and said they were gorgeous! I had the chicken breasts, same kind of price, which had a beautiful glaze, served with salad and a massive jacket potato & sour cream. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals.
The service was quick and friendly, and the waiters/waitress made you feel valued.
We didn't order a dessert as we were too full, but we saw other people's and they looked scrummy - sundaes tops with cream & ice cream.
The price of drinks was reasonable too.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to enjoy quality food in a quality setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rettendon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“rubbish food and no atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we decided to eat here, offered unlimited ribs :) when we sat at our table there was no room for us to sit and the people the other sides wouldnt move. The staff we unfriendly and the place was like eating in a libaray. It was in the centre of one of the squares and this was totally unexpected....avoid at all costs

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best place to eat ribs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

De Maria is a very nice restaurant specialized in argentinian grill. Try its amazing argentinian ribs with the amazing wine they offer and you will never regret it. Try to be there on saturdays to enjoy the shows on the Rembrant Square.
And it is verrryyyy affordable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed De Maria also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.