We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Captain Canal House 1 to your Saves list.
Amsterdam
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danny D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“GOOD APARTMENT BUT BECAREFUL WITH YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Very nice and very large apartment perfect for a big family of group of friends. pictures are exactly how this apartment is. i am very happy i choose this apartment for my stay in amsterdam BUT i am not happy at the fact i hav been back from my holiday for over 2 weeks now and i am still waiting for the return of my 300 euro deposit and now im not even getting replys to my emails... The fact that i paid 1600 euros for my stay plus an extra 300 euros the day i arrived was okay. but it was only okay because i should of had my deposit back by now. they are very quick to take the money from you but they stay slient when it does not get returned?!?!?!?

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: heating flooring
Liked least: not returning my security deposit
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
123321_11
Koper
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very big apartment in a city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

First you have to go for a keys to their office on another adress (we knew before, but anyway, it was not easy then with heavy rain and a child); then you must find it - we were walking in front of building and wondering which doors are ours, upstairs is black and white apartment, and our's was downstairs (on -1), with smaaaal doors from the street.The apartment is really nice and big and great deal here in center for this price (divided on 6 persons).In the apartment it was really cold and we tried to do something, but without success, so we called them and they told us they will send us someone, but he didn't come for few hours, so somehow we fixed this problem by ourselves (if we wouldn't have the same system at home, we would be still sleeping in jackets). The apartment was clean, there were some towels and sheets in beds, few packages of cofee, sugar, tea and tablets for the dishwasher. The wi-fi was working, but not in all rooms, there is also oven in the kitchen, which we didn't need. It is very close to central station, library, red light district, but peacefull.i would recommend it anytime to other bigger companies, looking for an apartment in Amsterdam.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Angela206
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Captain canal house 1 is an excellent apartment to share with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is in a really good location away from all the noise and the hussle when you want to sleep but only a ten minute walk from most attractions such as Dam Square or the famous Artis Zoo.It was clean and warm, all the rooms have there own heating controls which was a unexpected treat, and is underfloor heating not air-con. It is exceptionally spacious but the pictures don't really do it justice, it says sleeps 6 but could most definitely have more if it were allowed, and has its very own little courtyard at the back of the property which is a nice touch. It has all that you would ask to make your stay pleasant at first you get a welcome bottle of wine with a note saying enjoy your stay etc, and all bedding and towels are provided (this is not always the case when you stay in Amsterdam),there is a folder of information on the dining table to tell you where the shops, launderette etc are, and has telephone numbers of places to ring if you want to order a takeaway maybe,this also has a quick and easy step-by-step guide on how to use the appliances (very useful ).
The staff that you will have to deal with when collecting keys were very helpful and pleasant (this was the office in town).
Myself, my husband and our friends will most definitely use this apartment again the best we have stayed in.
The only downside to this property is the steps down into it as it's basement level are a little deep and steep therefore i would not recommend it for disabled or elderly travelers.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the space and location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$381
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Manager
Short Stay Apartment - Amsterdam
31880313199
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing