We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Artis Zoo like an insider
Special Offer
$46*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Hop-On Hop-Off Pass including...
Ranked #28 of 543 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went on a summer Saturday evening for a few hours. Beautiful gardens, places to have picnics, live music & friendly staff. You can get up close to most of the animals. A pleasant way to fill in a few hours

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    615
    196
    57
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Go there in the early morning to the opening time. You will like it without no doubts! Big, atmospheric, with great number of animals and birds, it will be good variant not only for those who are with children, but for those who and alone and adult.
Tasty food in the cafe opposite open-air cage with giraffes and zebras.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Outdated french fries farm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I know this zoo all my life, and it has basically not improved. I can only feel sorry for the animals encaged in rather minimalistic confinements. The quantity of animals on the limited space of this zoo is not of interest. Rather fewer species, but higher quality spacious living quarters within a species specific habitat-like environment. This zoo rates low on my list of worldwide zoos that I have had the luxury to visit during my travels.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to the zoo expecting to kill a couple of hours but ended up staying here for most of the day!
There's plenty to see for everyone, an amazing aquarium & a play-park for children. There's also a planetarium which we didn't visit as it was getting late by the time we found it.
The cafe was very good value for money too in a city where a burger will set you back £14.
An adult ticket cost 19 Euros & included entry to the zoo, the aquarium & the planetarium.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Zoo trip Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A lovely zoo with a nice park relaxed atmosphere the staff were welcoming and friendly.The animals looked well looked after, Well laid out everything easy to find and easy access from city centre.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.