We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$43*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Hop-On Hop-Off Pass including...
Ranked #55 of 340 Activities in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you travel with children or if you like to visit a Zoo where the animals are well taken care of, then don't miss it. It was a really enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    564
    182
    50
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best zoo ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This zoo is amazing and is a must do for everyone that visits Amsterdam. The animals are very well looked after and it appears a much more open and friendly zoo compared to many. There are good restaurants and cafes for people to visit too. It was not over crowded and offered great value for money with an excellent low price!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to escape the busy city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great zoo with lots of different animals. Great for families, but we enjoyed it as a couple as well. We enjoyed the design of the buildings and the absence of massive overbearing cages. A lovely place to spend a morning or afternoon. Good zoo but nothing spectacular or massively different from other large zoos.

The price may be a bit high, but we bought an I Amsterdam card which included the entry price, so was well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best zoo we ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was expensive to enter , 20 Euro per person.
But we really liked it .Animals really feel great there ans are super active I never so such active animals in zoo.Zoo planed in a way that each time you discover new corners there. Not too crowded and had extra activities. Recommended to tourists with young children.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This zoo was amazing you really feel like your in with the animals. There is a really nice garden in the middle of it and there is plenty to see. The biggest restaurant was very good quality. There was lots of renovation going on for new enclosures etc, but it didn't bother our experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.