We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$72*
and up
Ranked #19 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

an impressive variety of big and small animals right beside the centre of Amsterdam, worth the money, and worth paying a little extra for a map

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    508
    156
    46
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good alternative to beat jetlag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had just flew in from California and our hotel room wasn't ready. Trying to get our bearings in the city, boarded a bus that headed to the zoo. No need to focus or read brochures here, it's a nice bunch of cooped up animals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the money (when it's finished!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Quite a portion of the zoo is being redesigned but there is still a huge amount of animals and birds to see. I was a little depressed at seeing the family of elephants in their tiny compound and the same for the lions and gorillas, but generally it is a very good zoo. Unexpected highlights for me were the butterfly house, the merekats (that behave exactly as on Attenborough programmes!) and the huge number of penguins. The best exhibit was the enormous aquarium that seemed to go on for ages! It's much bigger than Brighton's Sea Life centre.
Oh, I forgot to mention the planetarium. When I went, the vision-filling film was "Astronaut" (made by the UK National Lottery Fund) that has to be seen to be believed - but it would be better if it was updated to 4K.
PS don't go if it's raining because only a small proportion of it is in doors (obviously!)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went to the zoo for my daughters birthday. We had a lovely day. The surroundings were lovely - like a big park. We were delighted that the lemurs were out in the open. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alovely zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a lovely zoo. Been to Amsterdam several times before but I've never been to this side of the city. What a little gem this is.Recommend it to everybody. Easy to get to. Trams number 9 and 14 from outside the centrall station. If you've bought an IAMSTERDAM card (a really good buy) you get in free.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.