We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$72*
and up
Ranked #17 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Visited the zoo with my other half for valentines day, were a bit skeptical at first but once we got inside we were very surprised at the amount of large animals they had- big range of large cats although a lot were sheltering inside due to it being so cold in feb. Absolutely loved the aquarium, some of the biggest fish I've ever seen! Amazing!! Highly recommend this zoo well worth €20

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    508
    156
    46
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Really wonderful canteen style restaurant at the back near the giraffes- the zoo is a lovely place to spend the morning and lunchtime!
A little pricey but well worth it. Don't buy a map, good sign posts, you won't need one

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A great day out, we spent a full day here and had a lovely time. A great collection of animals, including an aquarium, bug house and reptile house. Had lunch in the restaurant, which was a bit pricey but that is to be expected in large attractions like this.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Amazing zoo! :):):) must go to if visiting amsterdam! So many different animals and species and an amazing aquarium!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is well maintained zoo, with a good collection. I especially enjoyed the butterfly house, and small mammal house. However, it suffers from the same problem as many city zoos, which is lack of space, and I would be happier to see some of the animals (elephants, wolves, etc) moved to an institution which can provide them with more appropriate enclosures.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.