We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$48*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Hop-On Hop-Off Pass including...
Ranked #18 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you are an animal lover then you must come here!!! Best zoo I have ever been too! Such great value for money. was €20 for an adult. We spend 3hrs inside and loved every minute. There is a room which the monkeys are free to roam around with you, birds are flying over your head and lizards crawl below your feet! Was amazing and the highlight to my weekend break.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    525
    163
    47
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos I've been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a MASSIVE zoo, make sure you have plenty of time to get round it, we had to miss out the Planetarium unfortunately.

There are so many different animals, mostly in good sized enclosures. I was a bit upset by the lion enclosure, really quite small for 4 lions!

We had great fun watching the elephants get a pedicure and were even treated to a little trumpet by the baby!!

We traveled to the zoo via Canal on a 'Lovers' canal tour. It was a beautiful trip and much cheaper to pay for the cruise and get the zoo ticket included than to travel there yourself and buy an entry ticket.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Used our I-Card, so good value. Yes it is old, and some areas the animals have smaller than other zoo's, but they do seem to be modernising and in phases. However this is a great place so many differant animals and a great setting, well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst I've been to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I feel sorry for those who call it the best they have been to.
While the variety of animals isn't bad, it's difficult to comprehend why some enclosures are the size that they are. The lions and other big cats have it especially bad. The aquarium was nice. Long story short, I wouldn't visit again even if it was free (20€ - no comment. For 20€ I expected a much, much nicer conditions for animals.) I do hope they start using the money wisely. Another huge issue I had - the primates and some other animals obviously need more vegetation, instead they have bamboo growing everywhere except inside their enclosures and cages. Like I said I expected a lot more from this part of Europe.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“historic place but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Because of the fact that it is one of the oldest places where animals are shown to human beings it hurts me to see under which ancient conditions the animals have to survive there...I would appreciate if the city moves it to another area out of the city so that the animals will have enough space and respective conditions to be kept out of their wildlife...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.