We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$43*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Hop-On Hop-Off Pass including...
Ranked #54 of 325 Activities in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Been there twice and i simply loved it...specially its mascot which u can find in every souvenir...so good cafeteria to rest and enjoy a piece of cake and hot chocolate...my favorite section is the wolves!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    535
    166
    49
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best zoo so far but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

tickets were 40 euros for me and my boyfriend, quite over priced but perhaps worth it because although I have been to many zoos, this was probably the best one because there were so many animals that I had not seen in any other zoos. However bit concerned with the amount of space that the animals have, which are tiny and surrounded by water to prevent their escape.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Being new years day all shops were closed so while out walking we came across the Zoo. We had an enjoyable afternoon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The animals need the right surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great zoo.
Not enough property to expand on.
and not enough funding.
The animals need sufficient environments to be comfortable and happy.
Great staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day out in Amsterdam on Boxing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wanted to visit the zoo as recommended by a friend of my husband. It was a cold and rainy day but we can't unfortunately choose the weather but with lots of indoor houses ie: the aquatic center we were able to keep dodging the rain and educating ourselves at the same time!
At first we thought it looked a little unkempt as some areas were blocked off and we seemed to be getting nowhere fast but as we made our way around our fears were quashed and we really enjoyed ourselves.
The butterfly indoor section was beautiful and the aquatic section fascinating. Many large animals like giraffes and elephants which we don't get to see in British zoos very often were here to see in full glory.
We hadn't enough time so our visit was cut short and we had to rush at the end so please leave a whole day for yourselves to enjoy and get your money's worth. Reasonably priced for 3 adults ,was about 68 euros. Lots of incredible animals. Well worth the visit and will go again next time we are In lovely Amsterdam!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.