We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best zoo so far but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artis Zoo

Artis Zoo
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40, 1018 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020/523-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Artis Zoo, just to the east of central Amsterdam, provides a good deal for children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best zoo so far but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

tickets were 40 euros for me and my boyfriend, quite over priced but perhaps worth it because although I have been to many zoos, this was probably the best one because there were so many animals that I had not seen in any other zoos. However bit concerned with the amount of space that the animals have, which are tiny and surrounded by water to prevent their escape.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    415
    132
    37
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Being new years day all shops were closed so while out walking we came across the Zoo. We had an enjoyable afternoon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The animals need the right surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great zoo.
Not enough property to expand on.
and not enough funding.
The animals need sufficient environments to be comfortable and happy.
Great staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great day out in Amsterdam on Boxing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wanted to visit the zoo as recommended by a friend of my husband. It was a cold and rainy day but we can't unfortunately choose the weather but with lots of indoor houses ie: the aquatic center we were able to keep dodging the rain and educating ourselves at the same time!
At first we thought it looked a little unkempt as some areas were blocked off and we seemed to be getting nowhere fast but as we made our way around our fears were quashed and we really enjoyed ourselves.
The butterfly indoor section was beautiful and the aquatic section fascinating. Many large animals like giraffes and elephants which we don't get to see in British zoos very often were here to see in full glory.
We hadn't enough time so our visit was cut short and we had to rush at the end so please leave a whole day for yourselves to enjoy and get your money's worth. Reasonably priced for 3 adults ,was about 68 euros. Lots of incredible animals. Well worth the visit and will go again next time we are In lovely Amsterdam!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great day at the zoo! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was cold outside and raining but we still decided to go to the Artis zoo after reading so many great things about it. We thought in the beginning 20 euros are quite expensive but it was worth every cent!
The zoo is well maintained and the variety or animals you can see there is just amazing! The staff at the zoo was also really friendly and it's definitely a fun activity to do with your friends and family!!!

The only minus point to mention is the expensive food and beverages at the zoo. Those are really over priced- so for those who wanna save some money- bring your own sandwiches and drinks!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artis Zoo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Artis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Artis Zoo to your Saves list