We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well laid out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)

Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)
Plantage Middenlaan 2a, Amsterdam 1018 , The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
31 20 625 9021
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #64 of 295 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“well laid out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My son and I spent an enjoyable winter afternoon wandering around the [huge!] greenhouses of various different types of habitats ... plants and trees I've never seen and even those I am more familiar with in my 'semi-tropical' home. We spent hours enjoying ourselves in the gardens and greenhouses and then had a very nice tea in the on-site cafe which to our surprise had a live group performing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    73
    39
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not good in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Agree with previous reviewer that too much is missed when visiting in winter. We were disappointed. Probably lovely in summer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not A Good Idea In Winter!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My first mistake was going in the Winter, so most of the outdoor plants were dead! I have tried to take this into account when giving my rating. There was a small butterfly house which was nice, but not the best one I've been to; and a tropical house with some tropical trees and plants. The best bit was the larger tropical house divided into three rooms, tropical, desert, and rainforest. Fascinating with quite a bit of information about the environments and types of plants. It is quite small though. Still, it was a pleasant stroll around, peaceful and relaxing.
There is a small café selling hot drinks (very welcome on that day!) and a small selection of food. The staff were friendly.
Also look out for the cute little manx cat with no tail. Will allow you to stroke him but can turn on you as some poor girl found out!
It was about 8 Euros to get in, probably worth it in spring and summer, when I imagine the gardens to be beautiful, but I wouldn't recommend it in Winter. Maybe if they offered a discount in the Winter months.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Botanical winter gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wintertime beauty
Glaze of icicles bend leaves
Entombment of frost.

Had to use 100 characters, therefore, Haiku. Haiku when in doubt.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wet day passtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we recently stayed in the Tropen hotel unfortunately the day we decided to take a stroll the heavens opened so we went to the botanical gardens which was within walking distance of our hotel what a worth while experience, would recommend this gem for a very relaxing time out . Loved the butterfly house and full of interesting information on plants .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.