We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam

Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam
Oude Turfmarkt 127, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
31 20 52 52 556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Lakeside, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not much to it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I love archeology and make it a point to visit archeological museums when I travel. There is really not much to recommend the Allard Pierson. Large collection of small artifacts. Some nice reproductions of larger pieces. I did enjoy the Etruscan rooms very much. Almost no English text for explanation. Average museum in a city full of much better offerings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Unexpected delightful antiquities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Allard Pierson Museum is the archaeological museum of the University of Amsterdam. The antiquities collection is excellent for a medium sized museum and displayed and interpreted very well, at least for us as non-specialists. Things that one probably knows well, like the Egyptian artefacts, are done in a new light that repays taking the time to look at them again. Also excellent is the Etruscan and Roman collection. Well worth several hours. Not all things are labelled in English. Buy the guidebook in English which is a good read in itself. Cafe has good coffee and cakes. Central location and easy to find.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flobecq, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Allard Pierson museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

First off all I need to tell that I am an archaeologist, which probably affects my story.
The collection itself has a lot of great objects. Like people already mentioned the Egyptology collection is small but nice. But I was very disappointed about the text panels. There was not really a story it was just chronological exposed. The signs next to the object was mostly the only thing that was mentioned about an object or a group of objects. So I wonder what non-specialist learn by visiting the museum.
The exhibition of Troy was much better. There was a lot of explanation and interaction with the visitor. I hope this new way of presenting artefacts and stories to the people will be used to modernise the permanent collection of the museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No English Audio Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good exhibits of ancient Egyptian artefacts but really for specialist interests and academics. The museum was empty which tells you how limited it is! No English audio tour available, which would have made a big difference, and very few English explanations next to exhibits.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Allard Pierson Egyptology collection is one of the finest of the smaller collections I have seen. Many of the artefacts were given by Sir William Flinders Petrie to the university for teaching purposes. Among the artefacts are a beautifully carved Pre-dynastic ivory or bone lion gaming piece and a tiny but exquisite Amarna head. More substantial spieces from Oxyrhynchus and other Fayoum Greek sites are also on display. Interestingly the museum has also re-created one of the Dynasty 1 'servant' or subsidiary burials from Abydos, not often seen in a museum. Beautifully displayed with excellent information and in chronological order a visit can be as long and leisurely as you want. As the collection is all on one floor access is easy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Allard Pierson Museum Amsterdam to your Saves list