We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and personable staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libero

Libero
Vrijheidslaan, 77 | Rivierenbuurt, 1079 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 661 0637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 2,331 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: njoy the real authentic Italian cuisineEnjoy authentic Italian cuisine at restaurant Libero in Amsterdam.Here you can enjoy classics from beautiful Italy. Enjoy delicious antipasti, good pasta or a tasty fish or meat dish. Everything is made with much love by chef Bruno Morano, taste it. Close with a blissful evening dessert and you can not go wrong.The friendly staff completes the picture. Nothing is too much and anything goes. They like to give a glass of wine for you that perfectly matches with your dish. You feel at home at libero!
Banchory, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and personable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Walked to this lovely corner neighbourhood Italian from Mercure Hotel, about 10 minutes.
Tables outside and in. As Holland football match on, the restaurant was empty, but the welcome was warm. Staff engaged in conversation and joked about with us. Service attentive.
Food very tasty and freshly cooked to order. We had beef medallions in Gorgonzola and the risotto of the week. Both very tasty. Wines by glass or bottle, and happy to serve tap water not just the bottled type!
Such a relaxed atmosphere here, would visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found our meals to be authentic and tasty, they also have a good rosso Sangiovese house wine. The atmosphere was nice, the waitresses were kind, and the toilets super!

Just a couple of things.. It took over 30 minutes before we could order; the service in general was kind, but slow. Maybe we were unlucky that night, but inside it was extremely hot.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were staying in a rented flat near The Libero and decided to visit this restaurant which has a nice and vibrant atmosphere that greets you already from a distance: It was clear to see that the customers who had chosen the outside tables were enjoying themselves and the food.

We were seated inside and within a few minutes had said hello to two very nice and service-minded female waiters and the proprietor's two sweet young kids who really wanted to give a helping hand.

After we had ordered there was quite a long waiting time, but who cares when you are in good company and there is an excellent Pinot Grigio on the table?

I had Tagliatelle scampi e vongole which was absolutely fantastic. Plenty of baby clams and no less than four delicious langoustines with a perfectly cooked tagliatelle pasta and a touch of garlic. My partner had Pappardelle ai funghi porcini which is a great tasting pasta dish with porcini in a creamy sauce with carrots, celery, parmezan and parsley. Not as great looking as the vongole dish, but the taste was delicious.

The service was excellent throughout, and the bill was very reasonable. We felt that we got much more than we paid for. Libero comes highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In the mood for good Italian, we tried this "off the beaten path" Italian restaurant. It was a quick tram ride there and a nice long walk home. We started off with the Rocket Salad - ie. arugula salad with caesar dressing. I then had the veal with olive oil and rocket salad, and my husband had the mixed seafood - a mixture of shrimp / mussels / clams. Both dishes were really good, and went wonderful with our rose wine and limencello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant close to hotel okura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Looked for an Italian close to the hotel we are staying in and found Libero on trip advisor. Got a cab there at 9.30pm and we told the kitchen closed at 10.30pm. This wasn't a problem for us as we chose what we wanted quite quickly. I had lasagne and rocket and Parmesan salad which was really good. My boyfriend had lamb, he enjoyed his too. Service was good. Restaurant had a nice vibe candles on the tables and nicely decorate modern and clean. If you staying in the de pijp area and want to try a nice restaurant go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libero also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Libero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.