We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libero

Libero
Vrijheidslaan, 77 | Rivierenbuurt, 1079 KG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 661 0637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: njoy the real authentic Italian cuisineEnjoy authentic Italian cuisine at restaurant Libero in Amsterdam.Here you can enjoy classics from beautiful Italy. Enjoy delicious antipasti, good pasta or a tasty fish or meat dish. Everything is made with much love by chef Bruno Morano, taste it. Close with a blissful evening dessert and you can not go wrong.The friendly staff completes the picture. Nothing is too much and anything goes. They like to give a glass of wine for you that perfectly matches with your dish. You feel at home at libero!
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were staying in a rented flat near The Libero and decided to visit this restaurant which has a nice and vibrant atmosphere that greets you already from a distance: It was clear to see that the customers who had chosen the outside tables were enjoying themselves and the food.

We were seated inside and within a few minutes had said hello to two very nice and service-minded female waiters and the proprietor's two sweet young kids who really wanted to give a helping hand.

After we had ordered there was quite a long waiting time, but who cares when you are in good company and there is an excellent Pinot Grigio on the table?

I had Tagliatelle scampi e vongole which was absolutely fantastic. Plenty of baby clams and no less than four delicious langoustines with a perfectly cooked tagliatelle pasta and a touch of garlic. My partner had Pappardelle ai funghi porcini which is a great tasting pasta dish with porcini in a creamy sauce with carrots, celery, parmezan and parsley. Not as great looking as the vongole dish, but the taste was delicious.

The service was excellent throughout, and the bill was very reasonable. We felt that we got much more than we paid for. Libero comes highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In the mood for good Italian, we tried this "off the beaten path" Italian restaurant. It was a quick tram ride there and a nice long walk home. We started off with the Rocket Salad - ie. arugula salad with caesar dressing. I then had the veal with olive oil and rocket salad, and my husband had the mixed seafood - a mixture of shrimp / mussels / clams. Both dishes were really good, and went wonderful with our rose wine and limencello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant close to hotel okura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Looked for an Italian close to the hotel we are staying in and found Libero on trip advisor. Got a cab there at 9.30pm and we told the kitchen closed at 10.30pm. This wasn't a problem for us as we chose what we wanted quite quickly. I had lasagne and rocket and Parmesan salad which was really good. My boyfriend had lamb, he enjoyed his too. Service was good. Restaurant had a nice vibe candles on the tables and nicely decorate modern and clean. If you staying in the de pijp area and want to try a nice restaurant go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim van der Meer
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Not in the centre of Amsterdam, and visited mainly by people from the neighbourhood. Variety in the menu, pizzas, pastas, meat and fish. Not one of those restaurants with an endless list on the menu, but what they serve is good. Service was a bit on the slow side (it was quite crowded), which is not a problem unless you are in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Excellent food. Very good service. Nice atmosphere.. Populair Italian restaurant in Amsterdam . I should recommand to make a reservation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libero also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Libero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.