We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conservatorium Hotel, Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dryden, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Conservatorium Hotel, Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

After taking two trains from Oldenburg, Germany to Amsterdam, my husband and I took a taxi to the Conservatorium Hotel. Upon arrival, the door man greeted us and carried our bags to the reception desk. While checking in, he offered beverages, hot towels and was extremely friendly/hospitable. The receptionist was kind and noted that we had requested a feather free room in our reservation. The concierge escorted us to our room (Grand Deluxe Duplex), he was friendly and informative. He asked if we preferred fahrenheit or celsius and set the thermostat to accommodate us. He explained the television and gave us a tour of the two level room. He reminded us that the second bathroom is upstairs and that it had been overlooked in the past, almost like a secret door.

The room was beautiful, great view of the busy street. Two curtains (daytime sheer curtain and a heavy drape for night). All functioned electronically.

As mentioned above, the receptionist noted we requested a feather free room. The pillows and comforter were beautiful but were not feather free. With a severe allergy to Down, I request a feather free room every time I visit a hotel. When I brought this up to the concierge, they referred me to the reception desk... they apologized and said they would take care of it right away. Upon our return to our room (a few hours later after checking out the town), the bedding had been replaced.

There is a mirror in front of the stairwell, very elegant looking.... however, I wasn't expecting to see myself in the mirror when walking down the stairs and scared myself wondering who was in the room :) My husband did the same thing and we laughed.

The second floor shower was nice but a bit smaller than the first floor shower. The first floor shower was nice , but both of the shower heads could be cleaned a little better. The water shot out in various directions instead of straight down (both were rainfall shower heads). There were a few small pieces of debris on the bathroom floors when we arrived, nothing offensive.

The bathroom mirror had a built in stereo type deal with a remote to change channels. To change the channel, the remote had to be pointed directly at the small receiver at the bottom of the screen. After figuring this out, it was a little easier to use... could definitely use some improvement however it was a very cool and new-age type option.

The hallway was extremely hot (5th floor). It was also very beautiful, quite an elegant look.

We were very impressed with the hotel ... aside from the feathered bed, small debris on the floor and the shower heads, the hotel room was amazing. Very trendy and cool.... would definitely stay again if we visit Amsterdam again.

The bike rentals were more expensive at the hotel than offsite... I believe the hotel was $25 per bike per day and the offsite rentals were around $10. I am not entirely sure of the hours, time, etc... but it was definitely less expensive offsite.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. We stopped by the bar but felt slightly underdressed in denim and dress shirt / blouse. The women were wearing tight. shorter dresses and the men were wearing casual business slacks/ties. Looked beautiful but we went to the Aran Pub instead (also friendly staff, good service). The hotel said it also had a second floor smoking section in the bar area.

Overall, the hotel was very nice and has a beautiful ambiance. Friendly and helpful staff and quick response times to any requests.

Room Tip: The Grand Duplex Room was beautiful with a great view. Other reviews said to request a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your favourable feedback. Thank you very much for sharing this with us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our hospitable service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    134
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
123
352
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This must be the best new hotel in Amsterdam, and good value for money. Very cool and trendy, well located, loved the duplex suite, and a very lively bar. Top recommendations from the concierge of new places to go (as I have been in Amsterdam lots of times), would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and warm recommendation. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

if you are looking for a WOW factor in a city, this place has it. its quite rare to couple the charm of a small country hotel with trendy city accommodations. but this place makes both work. rooms were spectacular. we stayed in a loft-style (think apartment not hotel room) room with a view of the lobby. our teenaged kids stayed in the sister room next to ours. OK so you are thinking ... so what's the big deal, its a lobby view. stop there, because the lobby is a work of art and opens up entirely to the outside and sky with a glass structure. a visual delight; words can't do it justice. the only issue is I "mooned" the lobby guests several times while walking up the stars to the loft bedroom area. the windows in the room span both floors and the shades are slow to draw (or Im quicker than the automatic shades, not sure?). anyway, its Amsterdam so no harm no foul ... and no charge for the show. but my apologies to the diners at the lobby restaurant.
the food was very nicely done: abundant (buffet style option was awesome), tasty and very healthy local fare. staff is "on it", accommodative and friendly. even the doormen were engaging and helpful with directions and hints about the city. the spa is much better than the usual overpriced hotel want-a-be-a-spa, complete with a pool and gym. also if you enjoy staying fit on the road, the gym is extensive for a city hotel. (thankfully, since the shades are slow in our room.) the hotel is near many great attractions (2 mins from Van Gogh and Stedelijk) and 15-20 min walking to the heart of the city. but its still far enough from the center of the city to be quiet at night and have close access to an amazing park and local fare. bonus! that said if you want to be in the center of it all ... this location is slightly off the mark. you will have to walk a little.
stay here and you will not regret the decision. enjoy the amenities and be prepared to walk and enjoy the city. oh, but you will pay for the experience. its not overpriced but its premium priced. that said, I thought it was worth it and so did my family (all of whom raved about the experience). and Im sure the other more standard rooms would be less expensive and you should still enjoy the entire hotel (minus the slow shades ...).

Room Tip: lobby side rooms are amazing and quiet; other side rooms open to the street and may be little less s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for the wonderful and very detailed description of your stay. We could not have been more pleased with your review and would like to thank you for staying with us, I suppose also on behalf of our lobby guests as we did not get any complaints from them.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We received 5 star luxury service in this glorious hotel in the Amsterdam fashion and museum district. The pampering began the moment they greeted my husband by name as he stepped out of the taxi. This former savings bank, turned music conservatory; now renovated hotel has modern duplex rooms with every amenity from electronic shades to large flat screens. We have already planned to return in 2015.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique - our duplex had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We hope this experience with us is just one of several you will have for many years to come and we are very happy to know that you will be returning next year.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Fantastic design. Sophisticated. The hotel is in very close proximity to the museums. Concierge and Reception are extremely helpful. Service a bit tedious and slow in the Brasserie. Duplex rooms a bit inconvenient with small children...but one is to think twice before taking children under perhaps age 8 to Amsterdam at all. It is not a very child friendly city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel, and for your kind compliments of our colleagues at the reception and concierge desk. I also greatly appreciated your feedback regarding areas for improvement. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience Amsterdam as a very child friendly city but do hope that we may welcome you back. Perhaps when the kids are a bit older or for a nice romantic trip for two.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Love it, best at everything ......best gin and tonic, great food wonderful ambience. One of my most favourite places in Amsterdam . So stylish, but still great for children, everybody is made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very happy to know that we are one of your favourite places in Amsterdam and thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I'm not sure we have ever been more impressed with the staff at a hotel (especially considering the cost). Everyone was extraordinarily helpful, friendly, but not obtrusive. The building itself, and its location, are objectively perfect. But the staff made the experience what it was -- wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. I am pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us, and would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to for your very kind feedback. Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.