We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Luxury & expert service standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxury & expert service standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We received 5 star luxury service in this glorious hotel in the Amsterdam fashion and museum district. The pampering began the moment they greeted my husband by name as he stepped out of the taxi. This former savings bank, turned music conservatory; now renovated hotel has modern duplex rooms with every amenity from electronic shades to large flat screens. We have already planned to return in 2015.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique - our duplex had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We hope this experience with us is just one of several you will have for many years to come and we are very happy to know that you will be returning next year.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    106
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
282
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Fantastic design. Sophisticated. The hotel is in very close proximity to the museums. Concierge and Reception are extremely helpful. Service a bit tedious and slow in the Brasserie. Duplex rooms a bit inconvenient with small children...but one is to think twice before taking children under perhaps age 8 to Amsterdam at all. It is not a very child friendly city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel, and for your kind compliments of our colleagues at the reception and concierge desk. I also greatly appreciated your feedback regarding areas for improvement. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience Amsterdam as a very child friendly city but do hope that we may welcome you back. Perhaps when the kids are a bit older or for a nice romantic trip for two.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Love it, best at everything ......best gin and tonic, great food wonderful ambience. One of my most favourite places in Amsterdam . So stylish, but still great for children, everybody is made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very happy to know that we are one of your favourite places in Amsterdam and thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I'm not sure we have ever been more impressed with the staff at a hotel (especially considering the cost). Everyone was extraordinarily helpful, friendly, but not obtrusive. The building itself, and its location, are objectively perfect. But the staff made the experience what it was -- wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. I am pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us, and would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to for your very kind feedback. Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful gem that I usually enjoy but it really needs better service during its busy periods. I arrived at 2:30pm and was told the room might not be ready until 5pm; thankfully it was ready by 4pm. Restaurant service was nonexistent yesterday during a busy lunch hour and the restaurant manager was rude and unhelpful. Reception also called me twice late at night with an unfriendly attitude about a credit card billing error that turned out to be their own mistake. I really like this place but my stay would have been much more pleasant with more professional and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience . I am very sorry to hear about the streak of bad luck you had during your last visit. As you already indicated, this is not the service our guests normally experience. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously and I will discuss them with the responsible managers to be sure that we can prevent these situations from happening in the future. Hopefully you will be our guest again to experience true luxury service at the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is amazing. They are totally service oriented and the atmosphere is unique and beautiful. Can you believe a five story atrium lobby? Stunning! Everyone you talk to is helpful and pleasant and no request goes unfulfilled. The Jr. Suite rooms are contemporary to the max with glass walls, a sitting area with sofa and chairs, a large table for eating or working, and a large bathroom with wonderful modern marble sink. They are Ecco friendly and even though their local water is great, they had water on the rooms in glass containers - no excessive use of plastic. The food in the cafe was fresh and delicious but a little slow. The main dining room was on vacation for the month of August. Spa services were extensive and there are some excellent ones you can't get in the US. Highly recommend you book some treatments and enjoy the facilities. Right in the midst of the museums, and a high end shopping district, this hotel is also a short, enjoyable walk to town. We hope to return to beautiful Amsterdam and this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Corner Jr. suites are large and very comfortable - highly recommend you ask for one. Book spa appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and thank you for your kind praise of our services and facilities. I am also very happy that you have enjoyed your spa treatments so immensely and thank you for recommending these to other travelers. Your remarks regarding the service in our Brasserie have been relayed internally so that we can constantly improve our services. Hopefully you will be back in the future to enjoy our new fine dining restaurant which will open next month. I am sure you will enjoy it.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel occupies an excellent position next to all the major museums in Amsterdam. It is very contemporary on the inside but they building itself, which is listed, is an ornate 19th century confection. On there whole the old and the new work well together and there is definitely a 'wow factor' when you first enter the hotel and first get shown to your room. But then the troubles begin. Although each room is fitted out with all the latest electronic gadgetry you need certain technological skills to operate the light system and a certain amount of physical strength to open and shut closet and bathroom doors. Make sure someone shows you how everything works. Also don't look at the door for your room number but look at the floor. The beds and the linen are perfect and the breakfast in the lobby is excellent.

Room Tip: My room on the 7th floor was unusual and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind praise of our architectural design and location in the museum district. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced some inconveniences in regards to the technical aspects of the room. These comments surely help us to continually enhance the guest experience. Hopefully we may welcome you back for an even better experience next time.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.