We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Love it, best at everything ......best gin and tonic, great food wonderful ambience. One of my most favourite places in Amsterdam . So stylish, but still great for children, everybody is made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very happy to know that we are one of your favourite places in Amsterdam and thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    122
    38
    23
    12
See reviews for
98
324
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I'm not sure we have ever been more impressed with the staff at a hotel (especially considering the cost). Everyone was extraordinarily helpful, friendly, but not obtrusive. The building itself, and its location, are objectively perfect. But the staff made the experience what it was -- wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. I am pleased we were able to demonstrate how important customer service is to us, and would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to for your very kind feedback. Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful gem that I usually enjoy but it really needs better service during its busy periods. I arrived at 2:30pm and was told the room might not be ready until 5pm; thankfully it was ready by 4pm. Restaurant service was nonexistent yesterday during a busy lunch hour and the restaurant manager was rude and unhelpful. Reception also called me twice late at night with an unfriendly attitude about a credit card billing error that turned out to be their own mistake. I really like this place but my stay would have been much more pleasant with more professional and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience . I am very sorry to hear about the streak of bad luck you had during your last visit. As you already indicated, this is not the service our guests normally experience. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously and I will discuss them with the responsible managers to be sure that we can prevent these situations from happening in the future. Hopefully you will be our guest again to experience true luxury service at the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is amazing. They are totally service oriented and the atmosphere is unique and beautiful. Can you believe a five story atrium lobby? Stunning! Everyone you talk to is helpful and pleasant and no request goes unfulfilled. The Jr. Suite rooms are contemporary to the max with glass walls, a sitting area with sofa and chairs, a large table for eating or working, and a large bathroom with wonderful modern marble sink. They are Ecco friendly and even though their local water is great, they had water on the rooms in glass containers - no excessive use of plastic. The food in the cafe was fresh and delicious but a little slow. The main dining room was on vacation for the month of August. Spa services were extensive and there are some excellent ones you can't get in the US. Highly recommend you book some treatments and enjoy the facilities. Right in the midst of the museums, and a high end shopping district, this hotel is also a short, enjoyable walk to town. We hope to return to beautiful Amsterdam and this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Corner Jr. suites are large and very comfortable - highly recommend you ask for one. Book spa appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and thank you for your kind praise of our services and facilities. I am also very happy that you have enjoyed your spa treatments so immensely and thank you for recommending these to other travelers. Your remarks regarding the service in our Brasserie have been relayed internally so that we can constantly improve our services. Hopefully you will be back in the future to enjoy our new fine dining restaurant which will open next month. I am sure you will enjoy it.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel occupies an excellent position next to all the major museums in Amsterdam. It is very contemporary on the inside but they building itself, which is listed, is an ornate 19th century confection. On there whole the old and the new work well together and there is definitely a 'wow factor' when you first enter the hotel and first get shown to your room. But then the troubles begin. Although each room is fitted out with all the latest electronic gadgetry you need certain technological skills to operate the light system and a certain amount of physical strength to open and shut closet and bathroom doors. Make sure someone shows you how everything works. Also don't look at the door for your room number but look at the floor. The beds and the linen are perfect and the breakfast in the lobby is excellent.

Room Tip: My room on the 7th floor was unusual and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind praise of our architectural design and location in the museum district. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced some inconveniences in regards to the technical aspects of the room. These comments surely help us to continually enhance the guest experience. Hopefully we may welcome you back for an even better experience next time.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I went on a family holiday in August 2014 to Amsterdam, my first time. We chose this hotel not knowing much about the city and from the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and comfortable! The staff were so friendly and accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed. The room was beautiful, it had two floors and a lovely view. The concierge were so helpful with booking restaurants, trips and recommending places to visit. The hotel is in a wonderful area, near the Museumplein where the famous Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw and Van Gogh Museum are situated. The pool and spa area were simply beautiful. I am already planning a visit back next year. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a visit to Amsterdam in the future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for recommending our property to other TripAdvisor travelers. We are absolutely delighted to receive your favorable comments and are already looking forward to welcome you back next year.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've been accomodated at Conservatorium Hotel 5 wonderful days in Amsterdam.

The hotel is simply marvelous. The room has the perfect size and its classic and modern style makes us feel like we was at home.

The host team is warm and friendly and they always reccomended us the perfect restaurants and places to be visited in the city.

The perfect place to stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We kindly thank you for your lovely praise of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.