We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Hilton said it: location, location, location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mr Hilton said it: location, location, location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our short stay. As hoteliers we always look at hotels a little different, but we can recommend it highly.
Super location, a symphathetic renovation and utilisation of a building that no doubt came with many caveats to protect the heritage values.
our welcome was tremendous by a very switched on doorman, who made us feel welcome from the very first second.
we loved the concierge services, who organised access to the museums we wanted to see and the fabulous bikes we used to get around with.
the lobby is nice and busy, which gives the hotel a very good vibe.

Next vist to Amsterdam (LOVE that city!!) we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, go for a higher level room, you'll have a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy to receive such favorable feedback from our colleague hoteliers. I am glad that I had a chance to meet you personally, and it was a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests. I am thrilled to know that you would like to come back in the future, and definitely hope I will also be able to explore your property sometime:).

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    119
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
94
317
40
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From a distance you might believe you are approaching another Museum in the district by the same name, in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Don't be fooled. Suddenly, you come across a multi-story glass structure, and the vibe has changed. This is no Museum, but a hip, cool hotel, light filled, with friendly, helpful staff and a lobby filled with beautiful people. My wife and I stayed at the Conservatorium in Amsterdam for four days. The hotel is in the museum district, close to the must see Van Gogh Museum. and not far from everything there is to see in this friendly city. The staff could not have been more helpful. Our corner room, 330, was large, modern and spacious. The gym, was the best I have ever used in any hotel. The spa and restaurants in the hotel were superb as well. What made the Conservatorium so special however, was the friendly, courteous and professional vibe its entire staff emitted. They proved that a hotel can be both hip and modern, while catering to the discerning tastes of the well heeled... Cheers to the Conservatorium!

Room Tip: choose a corner room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and entertaining review, which we really enjoyed reading. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and enjoyed the mix of the historic building with modern design. We also thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the courteous service. I assure you, your kind words make a lot of people feel great about the job that they do so passionately here. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed there from the 9th - 14th July and was very impressed overall.
The rooms are all equipped with ultra modern amenities; bed was very comfortable.
The staff lived up to the expectation of real 5 star standards all around.
The hotel has a fantastic gym and a great Spa.
Breakfast was lovely and the chef makes the best eggs benedict i've ever tried.
Wi-Fi was good with speedy connection.
The Tunes bar is a really cool place to chill out in the evening.
I spend approximitely 2 months of each year travelling and staying in 5 star hotels. This is about as good as it gets. I would highly reccomend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind compliments to my team, and I am sure they will be delighted to hear they made such a wonderful impression. We hope your experience with us was just one of many to come, and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great property in the center of Amsrterdam, great service, nice rooms, wonderful breakfast! I advice everybody to stay there! All staff is very friendly and helpfull. Very beautiful property and Van Gogh and Rijks Museum right next door!

Room Tip: Room 702 - big bathroom which is bigger then the eoom - i really liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Conservatorium is a beautiful hotel in a very pleasant part of Amsterdam (not by the central station neighborhood), easy to get to with a tram stop right across from the front door. The gym is excellent with modern cardio equipment and both selectorized weight machines and free weights. The ceiling heights are very high in the rooms - we were in a 3rd floor duplex room that had a full bathroom on each level (ask for this, as not every room has it). The room didn't have an exterior view but instead overlooked the lobby - this wasn't a problem though, because the roof of the lobby is all glass, so plenty of natural light came in. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and afternoon snacks, though the bar seemed very quiet in the late afternoon when we went to visit.

Room Tip: If getting a duplex room, request one with two full bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting our exquisite gym facilities and the delicious breakfast. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and truly hope to welcome your back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

No words to describe the absolutely amazing architecture and decor. Great friendly staff (special thanks to the concierge team). Indoor pools and steam sauna are a must go. Very modern rooms, tvs, gadgets etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large in general and have unique decor for each category. Stayed in a rooftop suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your spacious room and the friendly service. We also thank you for recommending visiting our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really liked the service and the concept, however it was far off the city. Other than that it was quite nice. The front desk people were really nice. The rooms are ok but not very big. If you plan on going to museums its very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our location in the fashion & museum district was not entirely to your liking. But I am happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our courteous service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.