We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Lovely lovely hotel. A bit on the expensive side, but the service is impeccable and the rooms comfortable. They were very accommodating with our needs - at first, we were placed in a junior suite, but it was a bit small for three persons (with an extra bed) so we requested a change and were able to move into a duplex (same rate) which has the extra bonus of two bathrooms.

Only slightly negative was that there was only one 'host' (aka concierge) so we often had to wait in line, or wait for him/her if they weren't at their desk.

Room Tip: Duplex is way better than junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review. It has been our pleasure to have your as our guests. We have noted your remark and will be sure to review the staffing levels in the host department to fully meet your needs for a future stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    87
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
55
228
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was are second stay in the hotel. Its wonderful! The rooms are clean and beautifully designed and furnished, services are prompt and welcoming. Etan from the VIP was wonderful and took care of all our requests. Staying in the Conservatorium is great balance between staying in a top class hotel and a feeling of home.
We will surely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased that you decided to stay with us again, and thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your time at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are very happy that you will be returning in the future and we look forward to welcome you for another great stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff- some of the best I have encountered anywhere! Great location and superb breakfast choices. Nespresso in the room. Luxurious bathroom as large as the bedroom. Lovely bedlinen, pillows and mattress. Good hairdryer.
Downsides?- fell badly on a wet bathroom floor- the large shower cubicle still let water out under the door and the small bath mat was overwhelmed.
The technology lets the place down- despite a quick orientation by the staff we only found the extra bathroom lights, the 'do not disturb' sign and the in mirror bathroom TV by trial and much error- the latter had poor sound and required a cheerful engineer to fix it. We did not need the TV but enjoyed the engineering banter (did I mention the cheerful staff?)
Many switches were unlabelled and, if labelled, barely readable for anyone over 20. The bed sticks out a bit into the room and one of us fell over the edge first thing. During the visit many bruised shin encounters followed.
Tried to call for a spa treatment but never received the promised call backs- maybe shift handovers? Both the main entrance at the atrium and the rental bicycles were discovered on the second to last day.
1. Read every word of the hotel services guide.
2. don't let the bathroom floor get wet!

Room Tip: We had a quiet cosy 7th floor standard room in the attic overlooking the southern end of the museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We are most appreciative of your review and your feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your spacious room and the rich breakfast choices, but regret to hear about that you have also experienced some inconveniences. Please be assured that we have noted your comments and will have these checked immediately. Also for a next stay we would be happy to give you a more detailed explanation of our state-of-the-art technology, to make sure that you feel completely comfortable in your room. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future. It would be our pleasure to continue serving you.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I travelled with my husband and 1 yo toddler, and this hotel was perfect for the occasion. We stayed in one of the rooms with 2 levels, and this was perfect for creating a separate sleeping space for the baby. Amazing spa-style bathroom that even my 1 yo enjoyed. Service was excellent from the moment we stepped in, when the doorman actually carried my child on his stroller up the staircase! Umbrellas were available right at the doors (which proved very useful!). It is expensive, no doubt about it, but the property is so beautiful and everything was so nice/convenient/accommodating, that I really can't complaint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your favorable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind compliments about our outstanding services and luxurious facilities. We are looking forward to welcome you back for another amazing experience.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Conservatorium Hotel is simply everything you are looking for if you want to have an unique stay in Amsterdam. Not only the building, rooms and spa are so precious, the level of service is excellent.
From the moment you step out of the taxi, you are warm welcomed by the doorman. The check in is efficient but personal.
The Host is there to make your stay more comfortable and they certainly do! Many good recommendations of restaurants and places to go. Especially Annie, she really took the time to make sure we would see all the good things of Amsterdam.
The Brasserie is a nice place for lunch, the food is very good and the waitresses are nice.
Definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your favorable feedback. Your kind comments form a great source of motivation to all of us, and I will certainly share them with the team, Annie in particular. We are thrilled to know that you would like to return, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam for four night in April, 2014. This hotel is very well located my the three big museums - Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, and modern - and within walking distance of the cannel rides. We stayed in a Conservatorium Suite which gave us the extra room (separate sitting room, bedroom and of course a great bathroom with both tub and shower which made it well worth the extra cost. While the hotel stated out as a bank and became a music Conservatory (giving it the name); the hotel is fully modern both in the rooms and the facilitates. We did have our breakfast in the main floor restaurant (full buffet plus hot dishes off a menu). Service was good and food worked fine for us. The Dinner (food and wine) menu was good; however, the service was a bit slow at times. The best part of the hotel is their concierge service. If you want any thing, just ask them. Good for booking museums to save the long line ups and great for booking day trips. They would get a five plus star.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better. Would suggest getting a suite just for the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing the Conservatorium Hotel and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your spacious suite, and that our location in the museum district was to your liking. Thank you also for highlighting our concierge services, I will be certain to forward them your kind comments. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mierlo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have been a frequent visitor of the Conservatorium Hotel since the opening a couple of years ago. The consistency of the quality is with out any doubt formidable. I have never ever, in all of my travels throughout the world, experienced this amount of quality and passion for the hotel business as I have experienced in the Conservatorium hotel.

I am enjoying the hotel as a venue to conduct business, I impress my guests with Diner in the Tunes restaurant or with a well spend afternoon in the brassserie where I often lunch.
The Tunes restaurant is a high class experience of wonderfull and tasty food in a formal setting.
The Brasserie gives a broad view of the former outside of the hotel.

Privately I find the Wellness a place to find rest in the swimmingpool and love to enjoy a relaxed massage. There is a watsu bath, in which you float at 36 degrees water which was a seriously calming experience. Especially with my high blood pressure.

So, yes! I will be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a treatment if you are stressed, I had one ant I must say it is addictive! Oh and the Garco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you kindly for your continued support of the Conservatorium Hotel and for writing this wonderful review. We are very pleased to receive such favorable feedback, it really means a lot to our entire team. We are very happy to read that you will be coming back in the future and are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.