We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is my second visit to the Conservatorium and if anything it was better. A few niggles had been ironed out and customer service seemed to be pretty top notch. The spa and pool is still the best in any hotel and best of all it's almost always very quiet. We booked with mr and mrs smith and got breakfast included so enjoyed very leisurely and lovely breakfasts. My favourite thing except the spa is simply relaxing in the enormous but incredibly comfortable foyer which is just the nicest and coolest space in amsterdam. It's also a lot of fun to watch the other guests and imagine their millionaire lifestyles.

We had a duplex room this time which was fun but not sure it's worth the extra. It did though have a big window overlooking the front street.

This hotel is a great treat and everyone makes you feel just wonderful. I

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your continued support and hope we may welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    87
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
56
231
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife choose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful experience from the start with the excellent champagne we received just after we got to our room. Personnel are always smiling and ready to help. The place is very nice with many amenities and delicious food and excellent coffee, very important for my wife. The gym is full of light and offers an excellent experience for the people concious of their physical well being. the hotel is well located, within walking distance of the Cencertgebouw and some of the most typical Amsterdam quarters and also convenient to access by taxi or public transportation. All in all, an excellent experience that we look forward to renew as soon as our busy lifes allow us to.

Room Tip: inside rooms maybe better if you want to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to congratulate you on your wedding anniversary. We are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate this special occasion, and very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable time. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again on a future occasion.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

All restaurant reservations were booked ahead of arrival. Day trips and local suggestions for walks and gardens were excellent. The room was great, although not all guest rooms have windows that open to outdoors. The staff was amazing. Gin and Tonic Menu is a must try! Amazing! Tunes Restaurant is outstanding and should be a go to fine dining destination if you stay here or visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows that open. If you have any walking problems, be sure to ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely five star review, highlighting the excellent concierge services. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay so immensely and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The Conservatorium hotel was a once in a lifetime experience.
The building is located in the most attractive area if Amsterdam- full with art, fashion and prestige.
The hotel itself is beautiful and welcoming. The hosts are incredibly helpful and the facilities are endless.
Make yourself a favor and go there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our property. Thank you very much for your praise of our hotel facilities and services. We are also happy to know that our location in the Museum district was to your liking. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is the best hotel I ever stayed in. The service is outstanding, the location very convenient, near all the museums, and the rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is modern with wonderful amenities and a fabulous breakfast. From the moment you check in, you will be pampered and greeted with friendly warm service. The staff does all it can to meet your needs and ensure you are satisfied.
I would recommend this to all my friends and return the next time I am in Amsterdam. The concierge was extremely helpful--arranging museum tickets, dinner reservations, and making great suggestions for how to spend the time in the city

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet, modern and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our services. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

For the discerning hotel guest, this hotel hits all the right notes. We found the hotel to be centrally located for art, music, dining and for shopping while maintaining a quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. After being sleep deprived from being woken up in the middle of the night by drunken revelers and ambulance sirens while staying at another 5 star hotel, we fled to the Conservatorium for a peaceful night of rest. To top of the entire experience, the concierge service and the doormen were cordial and professional to perfection.
Many kudos to the hotel manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel and staff. I am very happy to know that our location in the Museum district offered you the perfect place to relax and unwind. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When arriving on Saturday morning (rooms available by the way) our daughter was smitten with a toothache.Within 15 minutes the caring Concierge Staff had located a dentist who has open for business and escorted our daughter to the dental office. For the remainder of our pain-free stay, the same Staff provided flawless execution of dinner reservations, suggested walking tours, Museum tickets and a private canal tour on a charming ca. 1900 private vessel. Following our trip a sweater inadvertently left behind miraculously re-appeared by express service at our home in the U.S. With excellent food and beverage services in a tastefully done post-modern restoratoration of an historic site, why stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.