We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best Hotel I ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is the best hotel I ever stayed in. The service is outstanding, the location very convenient, near all the museums, and the rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is modern with wonderful amenities and a fabulous breakfast. From the moment you check in, you will be pampered and greeted with friendly warm service. The staff does all it can to meet your needs and ensure you are satisfied.
I would recommend this to all my friends and return the next time I am in Amsterdam. The concierge was extremely helpful--arranging museum tickets, dinner reservations, and making great suggestions for how to spend the time in the city

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet, modern and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our services. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    100
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
70
265
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

For the discerning hotel guest, this hotel hits all the right notes. We found the hotel to be centrally located for art, music, dining and for shopping while maintaining a quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. After being sleep deprived from being woken up in the middle of the night by drunken revelers and ambulance sirens while staying at another 5 star hotel, we fled to the Conservatorium for a peaceful night of rest. To top of the entire experience, the concierge service and the doormen were cordial and professional to perfection.
Many kudos to the hotel manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel and staff. I am very happy to know that our location in the Museum district offered you the perfect place to relax and unwind. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When arriving on Saturday morning (rooms available by the way) our daughter was smitten with a toothache.Within 15 minutes the caring Concierge Staff had located a dentist who has open for business and escorted our daughter to the dental office. For the remainder of our pain-free stay, the same Staff provided flawless execution of dinner reservations, suggested walking tours, Museum tickets and a private canal tour on a charming ca. 1900 private vessel. Following our trip a sweater inadvertently left behind miraculously re-appeared by express service at our home in the U.S. With excellent food and beverage services in a tastefully done post-modern restoratoration of an historic site, why stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

An interesting and handsome building, formerly the Conservatoire, then a bank, lovingly restored to a very high standard. Charming staff couldn't have been more helpful. I was there on business but my husband came too and we made a weekend of it as it was my birthday. We were upgraded to a duplex suite which was beautiful, comfortable with lovely bathrooms and views across to the modern art museum. The food was good and our only gripe is that the service was very slow in the restaurant. The bar had a great atmosphere in the evenings, and the huge conservatory was a delightful place to have tea or meet up with friends. The meeting room facilities were excellent in case anyone needs these. The spa was better than many in urban hotels and there were loads of shops! Very conveniently located for museums and close to one of the main canal areas.

Room Tip: Our duplex suite was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and are happy that you were able to combine business with pleasure at our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments and please be assured that we have also noted your remark regarding the restaurant service. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a perfect stay in this stunning hotel. It is in a perfect position for anyone who wants to visit the museums and also easy enough to walk to the city centre. We eat in the Tunes restaurant and had a wonderful meal. We chose to have the matched wine pairing, for a bit of fun and I was delighted to discover that they do (and only charge for) half glasses for those who do not want to drink too much.
The staff were so attentive and not only spotted a bulge in our tyre which was dangerous but then arranged for us to have it repaired, made an appointment and gave us a map.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay, highlighting the culinary experience in Tunes Restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I recently accompanied my wife on a business trip to Amsterdam. The stylish Conservatorium - a former music school - is an excellent, if pricy, modern hotel in a great part of the city, just a block away from the Rijksmuseum and within walking distance to many other must see sites. The only major issue we had - shared with many other hotel guests - is the slow service in the Brasserie restaurant, particularly at breakfast. Otherwise, the entire hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room we were in was spacious, functional, and very comfortable. I have been a frequent visitor to Amsterdam since the 1960s and I can't imagine a better place to stay in the city - if it is in your price range.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on two levels. If you have trouble walking up and down stairs make sure you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your wonderful review. Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience in the Brasserie, and are undertaking additional training exercises to improve our service delivery in this area. Your warm recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A top quality hotel, don't book another hotel when you plan to go to Amsterdam.
Service, rooms, ambiance are all extremely nice and well thought of.
The duplex rooms are the best ones.
Best hotel and optimal location in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Go for a duplex room they are so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are proud and honored to know that we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much indeed for recommending us so highly. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LHW, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, getaroom.com, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.