We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable and conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Esher, England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable and conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If your Amsterdam visit is centred on the cultural attractions of the museum quarter (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh & Stedeliijk museums and Concertgebouw, The Conservatorium is an ideal choice. There are tram stops right outside for easy and direct access to the town centre and railway station. Rooms are stylish and comfortable, if a little on the dark side with overly-complicated light controls. Note that the duplex rooms have the sleeping area upstairs, with the sitting area, bathroom and wardrobes downstairs, presumably to make best use of space in a grand late 19th century building some of whose rooms have high ceilings but restricted floor space. Attractive brasserie for breakfast and informal eating in the former courtyard, covered over to make an impressive atrium.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay. Your details in every area of the hotel are greatly appreciated and we hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    106
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
283
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Conservatorium is breathtaking- a modern stylish hotel in a stunning 19th century neo-gothic building, with spacious well appointed public areas and the quality of amenities, service and cleanliness that is expected in top of the market hotels. Needless to say reception, dining room and bedroom service staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient

However, what sets the Consevatorium apart from any other hotel in which I have stayed was our bedroom. Our superior room on the seventh floor was huge, with a simple elegance and beauty that I have not encountered in any modern hotel, and the view of the city through the panorama window........!!! The light touch push button technology for everything took a bit of getting used to, but I think I can live with that!

The hotel provides the perfect base for a short stay in Amsterdam- opposite the Van Gogh Museum and close tram stops and to a 197 bus stop (with fast easy access to Schipol).

An unforgettable experience for me and perfect for my wife's 50th birthday celebration.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our accommodation. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Loved, loved, loved this hotel! My sister was going to Amsterdam on a business trip and I had the opportunity to go with her. The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. They always had a friendly smile and I was in awe of how quickly they could converse in multiple languages depending on what language they were being addressed in. David the concierge was so much fun; he greeted us every day with suggestions on what to do and where to go. My favorite part of the hotel was the lobby, there were many places to sit and people watch, where we could get a glass of wine or a cup of tea. Amsterdam is a walking city, so it was something to look forward to after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel was located in a nice area that was close to the museums and shopping. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is to die for, especially the shower! They also have a wonderful breakfast buffet that has many fruits and cheeses to choose from. The hotel had more than met my expectation and was one of my favorite places in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our accommodation. We are very glad that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. We hope this experience with us is just one of several you will have, and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I come to Amsterdam yearly for TEFAF and stay at The Amstel. I chose to stay at The Conservatorium this year and it was excellent. Their Concierge, Etan Sela, made my stay there beyond 5 star, arranging private trips to Paleis Het Loo to Dinners at the best Restaurants on a monents notice. The Atmosphere , Staff, Service and Spa were congruents with Mr. Sela's Service. I have already recommended the Hotel to 3 friends whom will be staying there in May. This is THE place to stay while you are in Amsterdam and conviently located across the street from the 3 most acclaimed Museums in the world: The Van Gogh, The Stedelijk, and of course; The Rijksmuseum!
I have already booked my stay for next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations, and are grateful for recommending our hotel to your friends.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you will be returning next year and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My visit to the Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam exceeded all expectations on almost every front. The welcome is resounding and warm - every staff member takes the time to greet you without exception and there are personal handwritten notes of welcome on arrival that make all the difference to the jaded traveller. But maybe thats standard now in five star hotels...What I really want to commend is the outstanding service given by the "host" desk and in particular, Etan Sela, clearly one of the senior hosts there whose service was extraordinary. Not only did he go and line up for tickets for us to see the venerable Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (I would have thought they were unprocurable but he assured me otherwise), he then retrieved my mobile phone from the local taxi company only hours before I left for London. Is this extraordinary? - I think so. Its a beautiful hotel physically but of course, its always the staff that make for the memories. Etan and his colleagues are to be congratulated on an outstanding effort. I would say this is one of the great hotels of the world! At least, that's how I'll remember it..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel facilities and especially our services. I will be certain to forward your comments to our staff, Etan in particular, and I am sure that they will be delighted to know that they exceeded your expectations. It would give us all great pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is the best Holland has to offer
The rooms are perfect , the Spa is beautiful and the restaurants are suberb
The lobby is a very easy place ; all kids of people come there
The staff is perfect !!!!
All our stays in Amsterdam will be here
For us its worth every penny ...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Your kind words and vote of confidence give us great encouragement and we thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We hope this experience with us is just one of several you will have for many years to come and we are very happy to know that you will be visiting us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location - 5 min from Concertgebouw and Rijksmuseum.

Wonderful personalised service . Very nice rooms with rain shower. Had very nice steal for dinner and nice , antioxidant packed breakfast.

Gym is unbelievable. Has kettle bells and punching bag !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel and thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.