We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for classical music lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The place for classical music lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Perfect location - 5 min from Concertgebouw and Rijksmuseum.

Wonderful personalised service . Very nice rooms with rain shower. Had very nice steal for dinner and nice , antioxidant packed breakfast.

Gym is unbelievable. Has kettle bells and punching bag !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel and thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    119
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
319
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel looks amazing, the staff for the most part are very friendly and helpful (particularly in the restaurant and spa) and the spa area is really nice.

We stayed in a duplex room, which was huge with long windows, and very light. Aesthetically-speaking, it's one of the coolest city hotel rooms I've stayed in. My main issue with it was that the room had some faults, which I think for such a high-end hotel, just isn't acceptable. Examples include the TV speakers being faulty and made high-pitched scratchy noises, one of the bathroom doors was broken, so instead of holding itself open, it would swing itself shut - but these are HEAVY doors, so this would cause a VERY loud slamming sound, the downstairs shower smelled of damp, the doorbell kept going off a lot, even though no one was at the door and the wifi wouldn't work (I called/asked about this several times, but they didn't manage to fix it during our 3 night stay). Also, for this type of hotel, I think they should give you more privacy, but we found that we were disturbed a lot by housekeeping, the minibar stocker, people just checking in on how we were... Not very relaxing.

The L'Occitane products provided in the bathrooms were very nice and smelled lovely.

The breakfast was really good, lots of choice on the cold buffet and you could order some nice cooked options.

The restaurant is nice, although when we went, on a Friday night, there were only two other tables. There was a live musician, which felt awkward with so few people, although he was reeeeeally good. I found the hotel lacks atmosphere in the evenings, but put this down to it being the height of summer at the time, so people were probably at restaurants where they could sit outside.

The spa area is great - nice pool, steam room, sauna and hammam. We had massages while we were there, the masseurs were VERY good, I must say, this was a very relaxing and enjoyable part of the stay.

Overall, I wouldn't stay again (I've been back since for drinks in Tunes bar, which is very nice and does excellent bar snacks too), as I think it's very over-priced for what it is. Fortunately, I didn't pay full price, as I booked with a half-price deal, but if I had, I think I would have complained and asked for some kind of compensation for the room faults.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for reviewing your stay with us. We regret that although you had a great experience and enjoyed your time with us, you were not as satisfied with your room. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced, and sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to give you a better impression of our room facilities.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Conservatorium for a city break with my sister. We chose the hotel primarily for the amazing swimming pool and secondly for its location to museums. On arrival we discovered that the pool was closed for maintenance - and I had not received the email telling me as such. We were so obviously gutted and upset, that when we explained to the staff that this was the main reason we had chosen the hotel, they went out of their way to do everything/anything to make our stay perfect. We received an upgrade, and they organised for us to go to a sister hotel to use their swimming pool instead. On top of that we were given seriously delicious home made chocolate goodies in our room and a present for my 7month old daughter. We were basically spoilt rotten! Then best of all the pool was ready on Sunday so we got to swim after-all. It is the best indoor hotel pool I ve ever swum in, long, warm, clean and not busy. All the recommendations of restaurants were spot on, fun buzzy, and priced sensibly. We ate lunch at the hotel on our last day and that was delicious too. We also took advice on where to go for walks and what to see and these too were great recommendations. Three particular staff made our stay at the hotel the best ever, Pierre, Ruurd and Isabelle. We cannot thank them enough for their kindness, helpfulness, generosity and general all round brilliance. We could not recommend this hotel more highly and we cannot wait to return one day. It really is 5*. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that we were able to turn your initial disappointment around into a truly memorable stay. Your satisfaction and praises are our utmost reward. Thank you also for highlighting the outstanding service of our colleagues Isabelle, Pierre and Ruurd. I am sure they will be very pleased to know they made such a great impression. We hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Roy Tomassen

Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been reading so many reports on this hotel since its opening 2 years ago, so when i fianlly got a chance to make a business trip to Amsterdam, and am booked at this hotel, the expectation has been very high on my side.
And the hotel did not fail to deliver.
The recpetion was very friendly upon my arrival at 7am in the morning, though my pre booked room was sold, i was soon offered a nice duplex deluxe room and a glass of fresh apple juice. The concierge David was nice and attentive, could address to most of us by names. Impessive.
The room is nice, pretty well maintained, comfortable and could be managed easily by electronic devices (one of my senior colleagues was not too fond of this though). The bAthroom size is decent, very clean, filled with L'Occitane amenities, and fitted with a beautiful bathtub. For a hotel so determined to be e best, it is a pity that no scale is provided, not the automatic toilet flushing / boards system, and no ipod dock.
The bed was very comofrtable, sexy linen, but lousy pillows...
Generous fruits platter, cookies and complimentary mineral water is appreciated too.
The gym is really good for a hotel, with on site trainer, smartly designed so that one does not feel trapped exercising here even it is technically located at the basement. Unfortunately the spa and pool were under renovation, with no mentioning from the website, at the front desk, nor a note to guest left in the room, that was a bit disapponting too.
The location is excellent too, perfect for visiting museums ! Will definitely come back to this friendly, beautiful, convenient and stylish hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations and that you felt well taken care of. We are disappointed however that we have not been able to fully satisfy your needs for a truly distinctive stay. Although it does not help you for your past visit, for any future visits, please be advised that we allows guests to make an alternative pillow choice from our pillow menu. We would be happy to help you find a pillow that fully meets your needs.

I also apologize that our notification of the temporary spa closure had not reached you. Hopefully you can make it back to Conservatorium Hotel to experience the fully maintained Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at The Conservatorium Hotel this weekend. It is truly a beautiful hotel, with superb design and in one of the best parts of town. The room we stayed in was situated on the 7th floor, very nicely designed. The staff is very welcoming, friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay another time and as an experienced traveller I would recommend it to fellow travellers who appreciate design, luxury and good service.

The Brasserie however is the only minor flaw: there seems to be enough staff around but still everything takes a lot of time. Not just at breakfast but also in the afternoon. One staffer was busy taking photographs of the buffet at breakfast, which seemed odd when service is slow to begin with. We assumed that our experience could be a one off, or a temporary problem. When flicking through other reviews I noticed however that the same experience has been noted since 2012. Something to seriously deal with, I would say. Roomservice on the other hand is very good with excellent staff. And since the rooms are beautiful, having breakfast in your room is a very good option.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Van Baerlestraat-side are light and an added bonus is the characteristic sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and for recommending us to other travelers. I apologize that your experience at our Brasserie did not live up to the other services of the Hotel. I can assure that we are continuously putting effort into the training of our staff in this area, to provide our guests with the right and professional service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future to experience the results of these efforts first-hand. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the RIjks Museum, Van Gogh and Staedlijk museums being just across the road from two of them. The building is impressive and the staff particularly helpful. The Akasha Spa was great, hardly anyone there so we had the 18m pool and the hammam to ourselves. Outside is the tram stop for the number 2 and 5 which takes you to most places. We took the museum package which included a Dutch afternoon tea, quite something and well worth sampling.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed so many of our facilities, from the location to the room and the afternoon tea in the Brasserie. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another lovely stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved the Conservatorium Hotel. My sister accompanied me on a business trip to Amsterdam. After an overnight flight, we were met at the door with some delicious glasses of juice. We were unable to check in at that time, but they took our luggage and upgraded our room because of the inconvenience. The room was gorgeous with modern amenities. Our favorite part was the hotel lobby. We often sat there after spending the day out or after dinner. They served wine, beer, tea and coffee. My favorite was a mint tea made with fresh mint leaves and served with honey and some cookies. YUM! The lobby seemed to be a stopping place for many visitors not staying at the hotel as well. The staff were friendly and courteous. The night manager even sent us some tea to extend his apologies for an "incident" (my fault) with our room. The rates were pricey, but well worth it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind compliments about our facilities and the services we are providing. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.