We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and excellent hotel with just a minor flaw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and excellent hotel with just a minor flaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at The Conservatorium Hotel this weekend. It is truly a beautiful hotel, with superb design and in one of the best parts of town. The room we stayed in was situated on the 7th floor, very nicely designed. The staff is very welcoming, friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay another time and as an experienced traveller I would recommend it to fellow travellers who appreciate design, luxury and good service.

The Brasserie however is the only minor flaw: there seems to be enough staff around but still everything takes a lot of time. Not just at breakfast but also in the afternoon. One staffer was busy taking photographs of the buffet at breakfast, which seemed odd when service is slow to begin with. We assumed that our experience could be a one off, or a temporary problem. When flicking through other reviews I noticed however that the same experience has been noted since 2012. Something to seriously deal with, I would say. Roomservice on the other hand is very good with excellent staff. And since the rooms are beautiful, having breakfast in your room is a very good option.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Van Baerlestraat-side are light and an added bonus is the characteristic sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and for recommending us to other travelers. I apologize that your experience at our Brasserie did not live up to the other services of the Hotel. I can assure that we are continuously putting effort into the training of our staff in this area, to provide our guests with the right and professional service. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future to experience the results of these efforts first-hand. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    119
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
318
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the RIjks Museum, Van Gogh and Staedlijk museums being just across the road from two of them. The building is impressive and the staff particularly helpful. The Akasha Spa was great, hardly anyone there so we had the 18m pool and the hammam to ourselves. Outside is the tram stop for the number 2 and 5 which takes you to most places. We took the museum package which included a Dutch afternoon tea, quite something and well worth sampling.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind praise of our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed so many of our facilities, from the location to the room and the afternoon tea in the Brasserie. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another lovely stay.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved the Conservatorium Hotel. My sister accompanied me on a business trip to Amsterdam. After an overnight flight, we were met at the door with some delicious glasses of juice. We were unable to check in at that time, but they took our luggage and upgraded our room because of the inconvenience. The room was gorgeous with modern amenities. Our favorite part was the hotel lobby. We often sat there after spending the day out or after dinner. They served wine, beer, tea and coffee. My favorite was a mint tea made with fresh mint leaves and served with honey and some cookies. YUM! The lobby seemed to be a stopping place for many visitors not staying at the hotel as well. The staff were friendly and courteous. The night manager even sent us some tea to extend his apologies for an "incident" (my fault) with our room. The rates were pricey, but well worth it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind compliments about our facilities and the services we are providing. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building that has been converted into a top hotel. Everything has been done to a high specification down to the smallest detail. The rooms are excellent with very modern features. The staff was wonderful and were there to help with any questions or issues that might arise. I found the location to be fantastic right in the heart of the museum district with easy access to public transport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have spent such a pleasant time at our hotel and found our location in the museum district to your liking. We thank you for your stay and hope you can make it back to the Conservatorium Hotel for another visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were really surprised by this hotel. It's in a great location near all of the museums and 5 mins from the canals. Huge room with a great bed and wonderful sheets. An enormous bath. First rate service, friendly and professional. Clean and beautiful spa. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay, and thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our accommodation. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed end Jan - beginning feb 2014, for four days, in the Rooftop Suite. Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and shower. Staff very helpful and obviously proud to be working there: the best I have come across and I have travelled quite a bit: from seniors to waiters to doormen and luggage handler, all were excellent. Dinner in Tunes: food superb, service superb. Should have a Michelin star, but they probably won't want one, as it is nowadays considered a poisoned chalice! Had taster menu and the overall 'Dutch' flavour of the dishes is stunningly imaginative (I am Dutch and have never had similar, but the dishes just reminded of Holland and its meadows, grass, cows, milk and so on (at least, if one finds oneself outside the main conurbations).
Only snag: it proved impossible to get soft-boiled eggs for breakfast in the Brasserie: I even wondered if the chef disliked the waiter and wanted to embarrass him! It is telling that that represents the only critique I can think of and one can continue to live happily without soft-boiled eggs...My next stay in Amsterdam will definitely see me book this hotel again.
Hugo

Room Tip: Go for the Rooftop Suite: worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hugo,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review, leaving the egg incident aside, but at least that gives us something to improve on:). We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Your details in every area of the hotel are greatly appreciated, and we will happily share your compliments with our staff, the Tunes kitchen team in particular. We are delighted that you will be returning in the future and are looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose to stay at the Conservatorium Hotel for 2 reasons:

- We wanted to visit the Van Gogh museum during our (very short) stay.
- We wanted to have a spa treatment after a long flight.
On both these counts the hotel performed impeccably.

The museum (and a number of important others) are literally a minute away by foot.
For the Watsu spa treatment alone I would be willing to return again and again. It was exceptional, well-priced and with an excellent therapist (Oda). Of all the spa treatments I have had (and there have been several) this treatment stood out.


Other highlights?
The service was exceptional. For a hotel of this size service was prompt, personal and very friendly. We were also given an upgrade on arrival (thank you!) and our room was ready a few hours before official check-in (thank you again).
The beautifully designed inner atrium is a breathtaking space.

What I liked less:
Our room, while spacious and spotless, lacked character. It felt a bit cold and soulless. (But a great bath, I must add)
The breakfast was average: there was a small selection of fruits and terrible coffee. I didn’t sample the hot breakfast, but wasn’t impressed by the choices on the buffet.
The distance of the hotel from the centre. If I were staying in Amsterdam for longer than one night, I would choose a hotel that is more central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your spa treatment so immensely and will forward your kind compliments to our Akasha spa team.

It gives us all great pleasure to know that you think so highly of our service. We are disappointed however that you were not entirely satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. Your remarks regarding the breakfast offerings have been shared with our F&B Management, to see how we can improve in this area. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.