We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed end Jan - beginning feb 2014, for four days, in the Rooftop Suite. Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and shower. Staff very helpful and obviously proud to be working there: the best I have come across and I have travelled quite a bit: from seniors to waiters to doormen and luggage handler, all were excellent. Dinner in Tunes: food superb, service superb. Should have a Michelin star, but they probably won't want one, as it is nowadays considered a poisoned chalice! Had taster menu and the overall 'Dutch' flavour of the dishes is stunningly imaginative (I am Dutch and have never had similar, but the dishes just reminded of Holland and its meadows, grass, cows, milk and so on (at least, if one finds oneself outside the main conurbations).
Only snag: it proved impossible to get soft-boiled eggs for breakfast in the Brasserie: I even wondered if the chef disliked the waiter and wanted to embarrass him! It is telling that that represents the only critique I can think of and one can continue to live happily without soft-boiled eggs...My next stay in Amsterdam will definitely see me book this hotel again.
Hugo

Room Tip: Go for the Rooftop Suite: worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hugo,

From beginning to end it was an absolute delight to read through your review, leaving the egg incident aside, but at least that gives us something to improve on:). We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Your details in every area of the hotel are greatly appreciated, and we will happily share your compliments with our staff, the Tunes kitchen team in particular. We are delighted that you will be returning in the future and are looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    94
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
67
250
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose to stay at the Conservatorium Hotel for 2 reasons:

- We wanted to visit the Van Gogh museum during our (very short) stay.
- We wanted to have a spa treatment after a long flight.
On both these counts the hotel performed impeccably.

The museum (and a number of important others) are literally a minute away by foot.
For the Watsu spa treatment alone I would be willing to return again and again. It was exceptional, well-priced and with an excellent therapist (Oda). Of all the spa treatments I have had (and there have been several) this treatment stood out.


Other highlights?
The service was exceptional. For a hotel of this size service was prompt, personal and very friendly. We were also given an upgrade on arrival (thank you!) and our room was ready a few hours before official check-in (thank you again).
The beautifully designed inner atrium is a breathtaking space.

What I liked less:
Our room, while spacious and spotless, lacked character. It felt a bit cold and soulless. (But a great bath, I must add)
The breakfast was average: there was a small selection of fruits and terrible coffee. I didn’t sample the hot breakfast, but wasn’t impressed by the choices on the buffet.
The distance of the hotel from the centre. If I were staying in Amsterdam for longer than one night, I would choose a hotel that is more central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your spa treatment so immensely and will forward your kind compliments to our Akasha spa team.

It gives us all great pleasure to know that you think so highly of our service. We are disappointed however that you were not entirely satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. Your remarks regarding the breakfast offerings have been shared with our F&B Management, to see how we can improve in this area. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Conservatorium in November, 2013 for five nights. What an incredible location, minutes away from Amsterdam's world renowned museums. The hotel is outstanding in every way, starting with the concierge service. The concierges, especially the head concierge, David, were the best in any hotel in which we have ever stayed. And we are highly experienced travelers, who enjoy luxury hotels. The concierges anticipated our every need.
The hotel itself is so well designed from the public spaces to the most comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Service was terrific. We would be delighted to return and look forward to the management's relaunch of the Lutetia Hotel is Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to receive your favorable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. It is always a great boost to the team to receive such wonderful recognition from our guests. I will be certain to forward your comments to our Host Team. We are pleased to know that you would like to return and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel which is immaculate with imaginative rooms, great bathrooms and thoughtful touches including nespresso machines. Modern and comfortable. My friend had the best suite available, in the roof and on three levels with the most fabulous terrace and amazing 360 degree views of Amsterdam. Service was a little too Dutch, but on the whole a very good hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you and your friend enjoyed your stay at our hotel, highlighting the beautiful I love Amsterdam Suite. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a couple massage at the spa before christmas. it was the best I ever had. the woman's name was Cecilia and she was really good in deep tissue massage. it's a little expensive but it was worth the money! i will definitely have another massage from her soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you and your partner have enjoyed your treatment so immensely. We will share your kind comments with Cecilia, and I am sure she will be very pleased to know that she made such a great impression. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Only stayed one night so did not really have time to investigate all of the hotel. Initial impressions were certainly positive. The place has a big 'wow' factor. Very impressive modern, quasi industrial design with some great touches. The welcome was very nice. My room was fine for me alone on this trip but you would need one of the larger options if travelling as a couple. The bathroom and separate loo were nice. (As a previous commentator has said, the L'Occitane soaps, creams, shampoos etc. are always a welcome luxury in any hotel.) The wardrobe is minute....in this room (505). The reception, luggage service and turn-down were all first rate. The Bar was OK. My colleague and I ended up at the bar as most tables were reserved but the service was good (no aperitivos offered). Dinner in the Brasserie was hit and miss. My colleague's steak was excellent. My halibut was dry and overlooked - I should have sent it back! Service was attentive. Breakfast seemed fine but we were on the run by then... Altogether a good experience and I would try it again with 'she who must be obeyed...'

Room Tip: Take an upgrade to something larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Conservatorium Hotel, and we thank you for informing us about your experience. The room in which you stayed is a single guestroom, being indeed our smallest room type. We would be happy to welcome you and your partner for a romantic weekend in one of our more spacious rooms or suites.

Please accept my apologies for the less than perfect experience in the Brasserie, we will certainly share your comments with our kitchen team. We are looking forward to having you back as our guest. Please be sure to let us know should there be anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Warm regards,
Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was wunderful. Everything is perfect (qualified staff, superb spa...). All the details are there to make you lucky. Luxury pure. Very central. tramway direct on this street. For the airport, take the TRAIN + TRAMWAY (max 7€) (40€ Taxi is really expensive)

Room Tip: the Duplex rooms are fantastic. Top sound for the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful words about our hotel, and for sharing them with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your favourable comments and look forward to welcome you back at the Conservatorium hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.