We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back for the Watsu treatment alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I would go back for the Watsu treatment alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose to stay at the Conservatorium Hotel for 2 reasons:

- We wanted to visit the Van Gogh museum during our (very short) stay.
- We wanted to have a spa treatment after a long flight.
On both these counts the hotel performed impeccably.

The museum (and a number of important others) are literally a minute away by foot.
For the Watsu spa treatment alone I would be willing to return again and again. It was exceptional, well-priced and with an excellent therapist (Oda). Of all the spa treatments I have had (and there have been several) this treatment stood out.


Other highlights?
The service was exceptional. For a hotel of this size service was prompt, personal and very friendly. We were also given an upgrade on arrival (thank you!) and our room was ready a few hours before official check-in (thank you again).
The beautifully designed inner atrium is a breathtaking space.

What I liked less:
Our room, while spacious and spotless, lacked character. It felt a bit cold and soulless. (But a great bath, I must add)
The breakfast was average: there was a small selection of fruits and terrible coffee. I didn’t sample the hot breakfast, but wasn’t impressed by the choices on the buffet.
The distance of the hotel from the centre. If I were staying in Amsterdam for longer than one night, I would choose a hotel that is more central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your spa treatment so immensely and will forward your kind compliments to our Akasha spa team.

It gives us all great pleasure to know that you think so highly of our service. We are disappointed however that you were not entirely satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. Your remarks regarding the breakfast offerings have been shared with our F&B Management, to see how we can improve in this area. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    134
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
123
352
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Conservatorium in November, 2013 for five nights. What an incredible location, minutes away from Amsterdam's world renowned museums. The hotel is outstanding in every way, starting with the concierge service. The concierges, especially the head concierge, David, were the best in any hotel in which we have ever stayed. And we are highly experienced travelers, who enjoy luxury hotels. The concierges anticipated our every need.
The hotel itself is so well designed from the public spaces to the most comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Service was terrific. We would be delighted to return and look forward to the management's relaunch of the Lutetia Hotel is Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to receive your favorable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. It is always a great boost to the team to receive such wonderful recognition from our guests. I will be certain to forward your comments to our Host Team. We are pleased to know that you would like to return and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel which is immaculate with imaginative rooms, great bathrooms and thoughtful touches including nespresso machines. Modern and comfortable. My friend had the best suite available, in the roof and on three levels with the most fabulous terrace and amazing 360 degree views of Amsterdam. Service was a little too Dutch, but on the whole a very good hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you and your friend enjoyed your stay at our hotel, highlighting the beautiful I love Amsterdam Suite. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a couple massage at the spa before christmas. it was the best I ever had. the woman's name was Cecilia and she was really good in deep tissue massage. it's a little expensive but it was worth the money! i will definitely have another massage from her soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you and your partner have enjoyed your treatment so immensely. We will share your kind comments with Cecilia, and I am sure she will be very pleased to know that she made such a great impression. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Only stayed one night so did not really have time to investigate all of the hotel. Initial impressions were certainly positive. The place has a big 'wow' factor. Very impressive modern, quasi industrial design with some great touches. The welcome was very nice. My room was fine for me alone on this trip but you would need one of the larger options if travelling as a couple. The bathroom and separate loo were nice. (As a previous commentator has said, the L'Occitane soaps, creams, shampoos etc. are always a welcome luxury in any hotel.) The wardrobe is minute....in this room (505). The reception, luggage service and turn-down were all first rate. The Bar was OK. My colleague and I ended up at the bar as most tables were reserved but the service was good (no aperitivos offered). Dinner in the Brasserie was hit and miss. My colleague's steak was excellent. My halibut was dry and overlooked - I should have sent it back! Service was attentive. Breakfast seemed fine but we were on the run by then... Altogether a good experience and I would try it again with 'she who must be obeyed...'

Room Tip: Take an upgrade to something larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Conservatorium Hotel, and we thank you for informing us about your experience. The room in which you stayed is a single guestroom, being indeed our smallest room type. We would be happy to welcome you and your partner for a romantic weekend in one of our more spacious rooms or suites.

Please accept my apologies for the less than perfect experience in the Brasserie, we will certainly share your comments with our kitchen team. We are looking forward to having you back as our guest. Please be sure to let us know should there be anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Warm regards,
Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was wunderful. Everything is perfect (qualified staff, superb spa...). All the details are there to make you lucky. Luxury pure. Very central. tramway direct on this street. For the airport, take the TRAIN + TRAMWAY (max 7€) (40€ Taxi is really expensive)

Room Tip: the Duplex rooms are fantastic. Top sound for the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful words about our hotel, and for sharing them with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your favourable comments and look forward to welcome you back at the Conservatorium hotel.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Enjoy the charm of this old brick building renovated with great style and innovation opposite Van Gogh Museum.Pass the entrance and be surprised by the large lobby, and its accurate decorations.
Some rooms have windows only on the lobby side, I would suggest to ask for rooms Overlooking the quiet side street.
Standard rooms are spacious, modern furniture, good ranging space, great tv.
A few downside on the bathroom: no windows and moist smell, the large shower knobs are opposite to the door, so not easy to use without getting wet.
Breakfast very expensive, prefer a great bakery 2 minutes walk and 1 minute further a coffee specialist with top coffee and allowing you to bring your croissant with you.
Restaurant ideal for lunch snack, great quality and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quieter side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us about your experience at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are glad that you have spent pleasant time at the hotel and enjoyed the exquisite interior design. We have also noted your remarks and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We value all your feedback and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Roy Tomassen
Hotel Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.