We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off & breakfast incl.
Ranked #16 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“SIMPLY PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is without doubt one of the finest hotels in the world and in my top 5 of luxury hotels stayed in. Even before arriving in Amsterdam, I was receiving emails asking if the hotel could help in any way to make my stay as pleasurable as possible. They made dinner reservations off site for us, ensured we had a large room with large bathroom, could not have done more to make our stay fantastic.
To make Trip Advisor work for all, I believe in praise and constructive criticism to give balanced review but on this occasion, I simply cannot fault the Conservatorium. The staff were fantastic, the hotel has been fitted out beautifully, the architecture, old and new is stunning, food was excellent at Tunes and The Brasserie, every detail down to sheets, towels, cleanliness was 100% faultless. Enjoy it, it doesn't get much better than this./

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th and 8th floors are in the roof space, large and spacious and great features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICHOLAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a delight to read through your review. Thank you very much for your kind praise of the hotel, this forms a great source of motivation to all of us. We are delighted to know you had such a fantastic time during your stay, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location near the museums and shops, very friendly staff in a beautiful designed hotel where old is mixed with modern design. We had a duplex room which is very comfortable and, because of the two floors, also very spacious. Breakfast is partly buffet, the hot dishes can be ordered a la carte; the pancakes were very nice but the eggs benedict with truffle were superb! We also had diner in the brasserie which was very tasteful. Try to make time to visit the spa; a beautiful, relaxing experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you for highlighting the delicious breakfast dishes. We are glad that you have spent such a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel and hope we may host you as our guest again in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent two nights at the Conservatorium as part of a BMW launch event for its new i3 electric vehicle. I was greeted warmly by multiple members of the hotel staff and then escorted to my room by someone from the front desk. The hotel, rooms and Michelin-rated Tunes resto are elegant and the hotel is well located, just across the street from the Van Gogh Museum and within easy walking distance of two other museums. I decided to take public transport to the airport and you can easily catch express bus 197 just a block from the hotel. Though pricey, the hotel is highly recommended. Just one word to the room designer: the mirrored door to the toilet is quite heavy and takes some effort to both open and close. It should be cantilevered. Just a nit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mifanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that our location in the museum district was to your liking. Thank you also for your warm recommendation. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed one week at the Conservatorium,
Good Location next to the Musemplein and 3 Minutes by walk from the City Center.
The room was wide with nice view to the Musemplein, very large bath.
Room equipped with Espresso Machine, IPTV (Very good sound), a work desk, Large closet, Fresh fruits.
I spent 2 nights at the Tunes Bar, Pleasant atmosphere, delicious cocktails at good prices.
The Brasserie is great, I had dinner and the steak was delicious.
The hotel itself is amazing, a mix between old and new, large and luxurious pool.
The hotel offer a bikes for rent, good way to travel in Amsterdam
Very polite and nice staff.
Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed and favourable feedback. We are happy to know that our location in the museum district was to your liking, and that you have enjoyed our Tunes Bar and the culinary experience in the Brasserie. Thank you also for your warm recommendation, we would be very pleased to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent five tremendous days at the Conservatorium Hotel during late April, 2013. The purpose of our visit was to gather and celebrate with family from London.

The conservatorium is a masterpiece of architectural refurbishment by the Piero Lissoni team. Tremendous architecture and functionality don't always work - it does in this case. The public areas are warm, inviting and contribute to a tremendous vibe.

Without exception the hotel staff were fantastic. The concierge team did a brilliant job for us. Tessa, in particular, made a real difference to our Conservatorium, and Amsterdam, experience. She is delightful, efficient and knowledgeable.
We will absolutely return to the Conservarorium Hotel.

Room Tip: There are a wide selection of room types and configurations. We chose to overlook the pleasing archi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for composing such a beautiful review, even after all these months. I am very pleased to know that you and your family have enjoyed your time at our hotel. I am thrilled to know that you would like to return, and it would be my pleasure to welcome you both back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Conservatorium, located near Museumplein, and next to the high end shopping street Hooftstraat.
The building is lovely from the outside and stunning from the inside, a very clever and respectful restoration. The main lobby is impressive in all its 4-story-high-glass-dome glory, but still manages to be cosy and inviting, furnished with stylish nordic design classics and oriental rugs. A great vibe all the time, the hotel is a trendy, happening spot. Very good service throughout, very polite and helpful staff, somewhat slow during meals. The buffet breakfast is large, varied and delicious.
I got a rather small but cleverly designed room. Storage was definitely a problem, but everything else was correctly laid out, very functional and stylish.
The indoor pool was large and very relaxing in it's apparent simplicity.
All in all a very rewarding experience, that hits all the marks: beauty, location, comfort, service and ambience. The price tag is quite hefty, as 400 euros will get you the smallest room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your very kind review. It is a great pleasure to read your enthusiasm about the design of the building. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived in our taxi from the airport we knew we had found an absolute gem. The valet and doorman both knew our names and greeted us with sincere pleasure. The hotel was a beautiful example of preserved architecture in a modern environment. We had a deluxe room with a wonderful soaking tub that was a treat after a cool, rainy day of eating and sight seeing. We will definitely go back as Amsterdam is one of our favorite city/villages in Europe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singaporeexpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about the hotel with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you will visit us again in the future and are already looking forward to welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Otel, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing