We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed one week at the Conservatorium,
Good Location next to the Musemplein and 3 Minutes by walk from the City Center.
The room was wide with nice view to the Musemplein, very large bath.
Room equipped with Espresso Machine, IPTV (Very good sound), a work desk, Large closet, Fresh fruits.
I spent 2 nights at the Tunes Bar, Pleasant atmosphere, delicious cocktails at good prices.
The Brasserie is great, I had dinner and the steak was delicious.
The hotel itself is amazing, a mix between old and new, large and luxurious pool.
The hotel offer a bikes for rent, good way to travel in Amsterdam
Very polite and nice staff.
Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed and favourable feedback. We are happy to know that our location in the museum district was to your liking, and that you have enjoyed our Tunes Bar and the culinary experience in the Brasserie. Thank you also for your warm recommendation, we would be very pleased to welcome you back on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    106
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
283
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent five tremendous days at the Conservatorium Hotel during late April, 2013. The purpose of our visit was to gather and celebrate with family from London.

The conservatorium is a masterpiece of architectural refurbishment by the Piero Lissoni team. Tremendous architecture and functionality don't always work - it does in this case. The public areas are warm, inviting and contribute to a tremendous vibe.

Without exception the hotel staff were fantastic. The concierge team did a brilliant job for us. Tessa, in particular, made a real difference to our Conservatorium, and Amsterdam, experience. She is delightful, efficient and knowledgeable.
We will absolutely return to the Conservarorium Hotel.

Room Tip: There are a wide selection of room types and configurations. We chose to overlook the pleasing archi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for composing such a beautiful review, even after all these months. I am very pleased to know that you and your family have enjoyed your time at our hotel. I am thrilled to know that you would like to return, and it would be my pleasure to welcome you both back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Conservatorium, located near Museumplein, and next to the high end shopping street Hooftstraat.
The building is lovely from the outside and stunning from the inside, a very clever and respectful restoration. The main lobby is impressive in all its 4-story-high-glass-dome glory, but still manages to be cosy and inviting, furnished with stylish nordic design classics and oriental rugs. A great vibe all the time, the hotel is a trendy, happening spot. Very good service throughout, very polite and helpful staff, somewhat slow during meals. The buffet breakfast is large, varied and delicious.
I got a rather small but cleverly designed room. Storage was definitely a problem, but everything else was correctly laid out, very functional and stylish.
The indoor pool was large and very relaxing in it's apparent simplicity.
All in all a very rewarding experience, that hits all the marks: beauty, location, comfort, service and ambience. The price tag is quite hefty, as 400 euros will get you the smallest room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your very kind review. It is a great pleasure to read your enthusiasm about the design of the building. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had been spending a lot of time at the Hotel's bar over the weekend due to business meetings and also because I wanted to show some friends the bar, but to be honest the service was appalling. After being seated we has to wait for up to 15 minutes just to have our drinks order taken, and the waiting times were just too high. On the other hand, I was very impressed by two members of staff (a Portugese bartender and an English waiter) who were the only people who seemed to want to be completely honest with us and give us an upfront explanation for what was the cause for delay. On top of that, we received an extensive description of the drinks we had ordered from the bartender and very personal service by the waiter even though there were many other customers in the bar. Their service was very impressive by these two, whilst the rest we were very unimpressed by, the rest of the bar and staff needs a bit of a shape up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for alerting our attention to this important service issue. Please be assured that I will address this matter within the team and that we will undertake additional training exercises to improve our service delivery in this area. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor level of service, fortunately our other colleagues have been able to turn this experience around. We hope that you will be our guest again and provide us with the opportunity to demonstrate the unparalleled service and experience we strive for to provide.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a concert in Het Concertgebouw we went for a drink to the famous bar of the Conservatorium. When my wife told the (Portugese) barman she is a musician who studied music in the old conservatorium, he offered us a tour through the complete renovated building. We were impressed. We know luxury hotels like the Amstel, Okura and Pulitzer, but this was really something different. The used materials, the mix of old and new, the high standards of comfort, the spheric restaurant and lobby. Impressive are the spa and the sportfacilities. On top of this the very kind host, Peter, showed us a few rooms in the old part of the building. The romantic room in one of the two old towers must be a reason to visit Amsterdam! A beautiful view on the vivid surroundings and the newly opened museum of modern art. We can understand why people like the president of Israel en Madonna prefer this place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to know that our colleagues have been able to show you around the hotel and give you an impression of the unparalleled luxury the Conservatorium Hotel stands for. We are very pleased to read your enthusiasm about the hotel and would be delighted to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived in our taxi from the airport we knew we had found an absolute gem. The valet and doorman both knew our names and greeted us with sincere pleasure. The hotel was a beautiful example of preserved architecture in a modern environment. We had a deluxe room with a wonderful soaking tub that was a treat after a cool, rainy day of eating and sight seeing. We will definitely go back as Amsterdam is one of our favorite city/villages in Europe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about the hotel with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you will visit us again in the future and are already looking forward to welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel has a great location, right in front of the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum around the corner. You can shop till you drop on the PC Hooftstraat just one minute distance walking.
The rooms and suites are all great and very luxourious equiped. One small issue: there is not enough wardrobe space. The staff is very friendly and the congierge is great, he will fulfill all your needs.
The bar in the hotel is very popular with the Amsterdam incrowd and the atmosphere is just amazing.
One small detail: to me, the breafast seems very overpriced.

The spa is just one word fantastic and beyond belief! The hotel is very good, one of the best hotels in the city... it may just be the best, in fact. But all this comes with a huge pricetag.... and you must be willing to pay for it.

If you love a great hotel, with international allure, the Conservatorium Hotel is the place to be!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of Van Baerlestreet, they are much lighter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to know that you have spent a pleasant time with us and especially enjoyed the relaxing experience of our Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Center. We have also noted your comment about the wardrobe space and would like to inform you that we have many rooms available with more closet space. Please do not hesitate to ask for one of these rooms may you visit the hotel again, which we are surely looking forward to.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.