We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect weekend retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the perfect weekend retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Conservatorium Hotel is a perfect weekend retreat - even if you live in Amsterdam. While staying there, you feel like you have discovered a hidden treasure in the heart of this vibrant city.

The historic building offers a stunning modern interior, that gives it an edgy touch without looking forced. The rooms offer everything you can dream of. I loved the bathrooms: one had a big spacious shower and the other one a super modern, but comfortable bath tube. And you should not forget to slip into one of these super cosy bath robes.

Their room service offers an excellent range of dishes and all of them were delicious. If you like gin tonic, you should so order one while there. It is next level and so refreshing. I am totally in love with them.

Also check out the spa. Its minimal design are a treat for the eye and the soul. So are their massages, steam bath, Hammam, whirlpool, sauna and Watsu pool. It is pure relaxation. The massages are pretty expensive, but yes, they are also heavenly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure to read through your review. Thank you very much for your lovely praise of our hotel, and for highlighting so many of our amenities. We are delighted to know that you have had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    117
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
92
312
39
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived here late one evening. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely courteous and helpful. We were upgraded to what they call the "apartment suite", which was a living room, bedroom, very large bathroom and an exterior deck approximately 10' x 12'. Everything was extremely modern all the latest gadgets. It was a lovely suite and in fact we extended our stay an additional day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the fifth floor apartment and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for your lovely words about the hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your room and look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Chic hotel with lots of mod cons and gadgets. V helpful staff. Bit of a maze with lots of levels and lifts that don't go to all floors which can be confusing but overall v good hotel. Had dinner in Tunes the restaurant which was nice quite modern food with concepts. Good!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the delicious dinner in Tunes Restaurant. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When you think back about your holiday or citytrip you may very well think about your hotel. It is your home away from home, the start of each new day and the steady base at the end of each day. The Conservatorium Hotel in Amsterdam is the kind of hotel that's so good it may well be your fondest memory of Amsterdam.

The location is sublime. This hotel is situated next to the important museums, near the famous canals and parallel to Amsterdam's most luxurious shopping street. Do mind that this means parking is a challenge, to put it mildly.

As the name implies The Conservatorium is build in an old Conservatory. The hallways are big and open, while the rooms are spacious and very luxurious. The wooden floor and straight panels create a very exclusive atmosphere. Even the scent in the room is just so thanks to carfully placed perfume dispensers. The TV is integrated in a wall-panel, with separate speakers above the bed. And this being The Netherlands, everyone speaks English and the TV offers channels in just about every language known to man.

Being a vegan I'm always a challenge for the restaurant. The hotel restaurant insisted I'd eat with them, eventhough I wanted to go to a nearby Indian restaurant (always a safe choice). The "Tunes" restaurant rose to the occasion and served a wonderful vegan dinner. Well done Dutch cuisine! Breakfast includes a traditional Dutch topping: do try the chocolate sprinkles on freshly baked bread, a real Dutch treat.

Room Tip: The sixth floor doesn't seem to have the noisy rooms some reviewers are complaining about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very thankful that you took the time to write this detailed review. It is a true pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We are very happy to receive such positive feedback and will certainly pass your comments on to the various departments. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Conservatorium Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Impeccable!

I am so pleased to be able to share with you the wonder that we experiences at The Conservatorium Hotel! My husband and I decided to host our wedding Lunch at the Tunes Restaurant in September. The wonderful staff assisted us in creating not only a wonderful day but a magical experience! We had an impressive 4 course lunch that had our guests salivating with pleasure. And our over night stay in the Van Baerle Suite was absolutely glorious! Never have I been so pamper and felt so special! Every single moment was thought out by this very tentative and warm team. They are not only professional but were willing to cater to our every want and need. Nothing felt impossible at this great place, who knows they might even let us get in flying trapeze for our 10 year anniversary! A huge thank you for a perfect experience!

Room Tip: The Van Baerle Suite is by far the best! THAT BATH TUB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Congratulations on your marriage, I am very happy that we were able to host this special celebration. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding our staff and the overall experience. Of course we would be more than happy to welcome you back for your tenth anniversary!

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an old music conservatory which has been completely renovated into a hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to almost everything in Amsterdam. Our room was quite narrow and two stories. The king bed and a small bathroom were located on the second level. The larger bathroom and a small sitting area were located on the first level with two closets. The main drawback was that you could only open one closet door at a time as they opened one over the other. After about the third day, we finally were used to this, but only one of us could access our closet at a time. This problem and the two story configuration limited it to four stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Although this does not help you for your past visit, for any future visits, please be advised that we have over 85 different room lay outs, including many single level rooms with more closet space and doors which do not open sideways. We just hope that we are able to host you as our guest again in the future to completely satisfy your need for a truly distinctive vacation.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We really liked most things about it and were it not for one very big mistake they would have earned 5 stars. The location is great, the building is beautiful inside and out, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the food at breakfast was very good, the room itself was big and comfortable. The technology in the room is a little more complicated than necessary but OK once you get used to it. There was more noise than I would expect from the hallway and the room upstairs. The big mistake they made is giving us an inferior room with twin beds when we booked a deluxe room with a queen or king size bed. This may not seem like a big deal, but the room was €495 a night and for that price I expect to get what I am promised. The hotel hostess first claimed we requested the twin beds, but we presented their own written confirmation of the Deluxe room with the queen/king. Then she said sorry but the hotel is full so nothing they can do. This was a dark cloud over an otherwise very nice weekend. I believe it would have been appropriate for them to knock a little bit off the price as a gesture of apology, but they did nothing. Very disappointing. Just before posting this review I received a note of apology from the hotel and promise of an upgrade to a suite if we give them another try. If we stay again I will post another updated review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Again I would like to apologize for the less than perfect experience. I feel honored that you choose the Conservatorium Hotel for your wedding anniversary and am very sorry that we have not been able to make it as memorable as it could have been. As said in the email we will upgrade you to a nice and certainly very romantic suite on your next stay. We just hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back for a true five star experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.