We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had an excellent four night stay in this very fine hotel. Great location, great facilities, great service.I rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide. Certainly in Amsterdam I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

It was an absolute delight to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    117
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
92
312
39
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Conservatorium was recommended by 2 friends who travel to Amsterdam frequently and have impeccable taste. We were on the last leg of a 3 city trip to Europe and had stayed in great hotels in Paris and London, so our expectations were high when we arrived.
Many reviews have covered the service,technology and location all of which I found to be of the highest quality. But what really impressed me was the building itself.
The challenge of converting a hundred year old conservatory into a modern hotel is daunting The developers did it by building a sleek new building inside a grand old edifice. Little hints, like mosaic floors and old stone steps lead you through a fantastic piece of modern architecture with grand common areas and intimate spaces. The materials and finishes are all top grade and the culmination made for a very special experience. Thank you Conservatorium.

Room Tip: We were first shown a duplex room that had a small dark lower space and a nice bedroom loft, but onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for taking the time the compose this wonderful review. We highly appreciate your kind praise of the way our historical building has been restored, combining original features with state-of-the-art design and technologies. Please also extend a heartfelt thanks to your friends for recommending our hotel. We hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a three night break in Amsterdam, and stayed at the Conservatorium Hotel. We'd seen reviews and photos but this is my own opinion of my overall experience:
On arrival we were greeted by very efficient check-in staff on reception. Part of our "deal" was a free welcome drink, which turned out to be either apple juice or water! Not much of a welcome to a five star hotel, if you ask me!!?
We were shown to our room by a young guy, who was keen to explain the history of the building and to be fair, it was one of the most impressive hotel buildings I've stayed in, mixing modern with traditional architecture.
We had been put in a deluxe room, which had a coffee machine, mini bar, electric night and day curtains, lots of lights that could switch on and off when they sensed movement and two huge wardrobes that lit when the doors opened one of which contained a safe. We had a fruit bowl, which unlike other places we've stayed in, got replenished every day. We also got water every day too. The guy who introduced us to the room's facilities said he'd get a kettle sent up, but that never materialised, so we asked for one on day two which arrived within a few minutes.
My one criticism of the room, is that it had no mirror near a plug socket that I could plug a hair dryer in to. There was a socket in the bathroom, but it didn't work and nor did the tv in the bathroom, (in the case of the tv no big deal though)
For this reason, I only showered in the swimming pool area's changing rooms, so that I could dry my hair there, which isn't exactly convenient, and even there, the lighting was so dim, you had to train the illuminated magnifying mirror onto your head, so you could see what you were doing!
To the sports facilities: these were excellent, sauna, steam room, small warm water pool for exercises and relaxation, nice jacuzzi, and fantastic swimming pool, which I often didn't have to share! My Husband used the gym, which he found to be excellent.
So far so good!!
Our experience of the breakfast room wasn't quite as good, and on the second morning, we walked out, because we got tired of waiting to be served. You had to order coffee, there was no English Breakfast tea, so I provided my own teabags, which didn't matter, but the coffee scene seemed to dominate, much like in the room.
The food on the cold buffet was general breakfast fayre - pastries, breads/rolls, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats/cheeses/fish/fruit/tomatoes and the like. You could order eggs cooked several ways, and you had to order toast also, which is often where the delays occurred. We couldn't seem to get on with cold food and then order, the waiter seemed keen to get us to order the hot food almost immediately which we didn't want to do before we'd had some cereals or fruit.
There was no shortage of staff in the dining room, it was just a badly organised set up. It let the hotel down somewhat and for anyone not on a b&b deal, for the cold and hot food, it would cost fifty euros, which is very over the top by any standards!!
The hotel is situated near the main museums and not far from the boat trips and airport. The number 197 bus from Schipol stops about a three minute walk from the hotel.
There are enough restaurants nearby too, and the Bols experience is a short distance and is good fun.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again, if we were ever in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the main road at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your detailed and constructive feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and also appreciate the niggles you have pointed out. We will surely use your comments to keep improving our service delivery. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in order to prove that these points have been amended, and for what will hopefully be a true 5-star experience and another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Upscale, chic and beautiful. A unique building (from the outside you would not tell it is a hotel) in the hart of the city. Conservatorium provides a wonderful staying and dining experience with what must be the best service in the city of Amsterdam. Excellent restaurants and just a perfect place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us so highly. We are very pleased to receive your favorable feedback and truly hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The only thing wrong with this hotel is that it is very expensive. We thought the service, room, shower,location etc. were great. We did not eat at the hotel so we cannot comment on the food but the cocktails were very good. The staff were uniformly helpful and knowledgeable. If visiting the museums is a priority the location can't be beat. All in all, a great hotel, just pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to know that you have had an enjoyable time with us. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment my sister and I arrived and were served delicious crushed organic apple juice as we checked in, to the moment we left 5 days later, the Conservatorium exceeded our hopes in every way possible - it was outstanding. I travelled from Australia and my sister from Scotland - as a place to meet up and explore Amsterdam you could not find a better location. So close to museums and the great canal tours too. This hotel is about much more than just great location however - the staff were incredibly warm, welcoming, helpful and genuine. Linda and Bryan made each breakfast delightful with their attentive service and good humour with a smile. The breakfasts are not to be missed and we found everything delicious - especially the eggs benedict and pancakes. On our first night we were busy talking so had room service - also excellent food, beautifully presented. The beds were fantastically comfortable, the room quiet with a lovely view and the bathroom was very well appointed with everything you need. My personal highlight was the stunning lap pool and great gym, sauna and fabulous yoga classes. I did three in three days - all excellent and in 25 years of yoga classes the one I did with Hanna Paz is simply The Best Ever - what a wonderful teacher with insightful and interesting poses to share. My sister also loved the Hammam and Massage. I would like to pass on my very enthusiastic endorsement of this superb hotel, the best I have come across anywhere in the world. What a beautiful setting - ultra modern yet with the gorgeous details of stained glass and tiles from the past to make you really feel that you are a part of history. My heartfelt compliments to Mr De Wit, Ms Velthuijs and their faultless support staff. I hope to return with my husband and sons, sooner rather than later! What a wonderful memory to look back on in a stunning city. Thank you for a perfectly delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Robertson,

It has been a great pleasure to have you and your sister as our guests. I am heartened by your kind comments. It is a great boost to the team to receive such wonderful recognition. We would like to thank you again for your very kind comments and hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family to the Conservatorium Hotel in the nearby future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a glorious long weekend, staying at the Conservatorium and visiting the art galleries (minutes walk away) and the city itself (totally accessible by tram). The hotel is indeed very expensive, as other reviewers have commented, but in this case we thought it was worth it. We could experience what we were paying for, which is not always the case in expensive hotels. The building itself is stylish and unusual, with the most modern of decor and every luxury in the bedroom, combined with wonderful period features that echo back to its past activities, such as the tiled corridors with their original banking-associated decorations. It is really beautiful. And the delightful staff could not have been more warm, welcoming, helpful and attentive - from phone conversations about details before we arrived, to being remembered and receiving personal service throughout our stay. Add to all this spectacular facilities in the spa, the Nespresso machine in the bedroom (we had a beautiful spacious room on the seventh floor with a view of the roof-tops), the amazing cocktail in the bar ... I could wax lyrical all day. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about what you want and they will do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. It gives us all great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay so immensely. We are thrilled to know that you would like to return, and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.