We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxury weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked ourselves into this luxury hotel for a birthday celebration weekend away. The hotel did not dissapoint in the slightest. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The concierge desk were only to happy to help to the extent the chap we dealt with gave us his personal business card and said if we needed anything at all during the day whereever we were in Amsterdam to give him a ring. The suite we had was quite luxurious with everything we needed. All in all a great weekend, excellent hotel in a good location. Well worth a visit. We will go back for another weekend break at some point and will definatly be staying here again. Happy travels

Room Tip: Take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are honored you chose the Conservatorium hotel for the birthday celebration, and we are delighted to hear it was such a success. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you on your next weekend in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    106
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
282
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived to Amsterdam for a short weekend and was lucky to have booked my self in to this great hotel. Staff was very helpful and the concierge actually gave great recommendation.
The standard rooms was very modern and nice. But after peeking on one of the suites, I just had to upgrade. It was well worth it.
A big surprise was also the restaurant. Served delicious dishes.

Spa facility was great in general. The Sauna could have been a bit more warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are thrilled to read your 5-star review of our hotel. We are glad that you thought our hotel was a great choice for your past stay, and are very happy that you have been able to enjoy our spa and restaurant. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel which is near the museum district. We loved the location. Five minutes by bicycle to the heart of the crowded and touristy canal district. The neighborhood around the hotel had a great neighborhood vibe. We rented bicycles and were a twenty minute bike ride from anyplace in the city. What we loved about the hotel were the "hosts" the very helpful concierge service. In general they found us just what we wanted and got us in to some difficult restaurants. The one thing that i would note, not all of the rooms are great. Our initial room was on two floors with a bathroom only on the downstairs. We ended up in a fantastic room so don't be shy about asking to change.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, highlighting our special host service. It is very encouraging to receive such favorable feedback and it means a lot to our entire team. We are really looking forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a dream. Everything a hotel should be. Spectacular old building with soaring ceilings, art nouveau tiles and the latest in design courtesy of Lissoni. We had a superior or deluxe room. It was very spacious, beautifully designed. Ditto for the bathroom. There are many different styles of rooms so check the net to see what works for you. the location is minutes from all the must see museums. The staff is exceptionally friendly. Do double check on reservations made by the host team. They made us a reservation for a tuesday at Fyra. Oops... Turns out Fyra is closed every Tuesday. The hotel's own restaurant : Tunes offers an exceptional gourmet experience. Oh the lemon tart.... a sensational surprise.
The spa is wonderful, great massages. The spa itself is not well managed. Do double check on your appointments. They had one of ours for the wrong time.
Would I return to the Conservatorium ? DEFINITELY?

Room Tip: Do double check on dates made by host team and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to receive your five star review and thank you kindly for your compliments. We are glad that you have spent a lovely time at the Conservatorium Hotel. However we regret the missteps made by our staff. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience, it is certainly not the high level of service we are aiming for.
We are extremely happy to hear that you will visit us again and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a top hotel ! It is such a well designed place from the cool New York style cocktail bar to the super Tunes restaurant. It is international and lively. I also very much recommend the amazing spa that is literally out of this world. I had great workouts then would completely chill out in the spa and pool. I have been to Amsterdam often but this is my favorite hotel by far. Great for business or for those fun times. The location is great easy to get the museums as well as the business districts in the south. Best of all, the professional staff are all cheerful and there to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have spent such an enjoyable time at our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments and for recommending our Akasha spa. We feel very honored to be your favorite hotel in Amsterdam and are much looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very spectacular part of this urbane and sophisticated hotel is the Akasha Spa. It is large and very luxurious . The indoor pool is about the best I have seen in any hotel or club I have been to. The gym is large and has all the weights and equipment and allows a very serious workout and training. The sauna and hamman are spotlessly clean and of luxury materials. The Spa area exudes a peaceful and relaxing ambience that is more like that of an exotic and oriental atmosphere than of a clinical european spa.Just as important the staff are all so friendly and cheerful and extremely energetic. This being Amsterdam, everyone speaks very good English. It is a great place for either a workout with one the the super trainers or for a relaxing spa and massage treatment . It was a real joy in what is a great hotel. If you are lucky enough to stay here also make time for the Akasha Spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our Akasha team is very pleased to read of your praises. It is a great source of motivation to continue their pursuit of the highest standard in spa facilities and services. We just hope you will be able to come back for another enjoyable experience.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam was made even more enjoyable with this property. Don't expect over the top pampering, which we quickly learned isn't a Dutch tradition, but you get top notch responsiveness, great food and very effective concierge and manager.
Got upgraded due to works in the facade of the hotel...a stunning duplex suite!

Room Tip: The duplex suite are sinfully good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Erik de Wit
General Manager
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.