We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Amsterdam and don't stay here you are nuts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If you are in Amsterdam and don't stay here you are nuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

So if you a a boutique hotel lover, and I am a self-admitted junkie, you will love this place.

STAFF
First the staff, since I tend to try to stay in smaller more intimate hotels, I am used to amazing staff. The staff here was hands down the most attentive and helpful staff ever. They really made our trip. Everything we wanted to do, they would arrange for us, get us exact directions, they'd ask us how it was when we came back in, just a very very helpful bunch. They left you with that feeling that you were at someone's house and that they wanted to take care of you.

THE HOTEL
The hotel is in a historic building, the architecture was amazing in the lobby and throughout even the halls. I found myself taking pictures of even the smallest details as they spared none. Even if you are not staying here, it's very close to some of the major tourist attractions so swing by.

THE BAR / RESTAURANTS
the bar (tunes) was nothing short of great too, the staff there continued to load me up with new gin drinks to try, they have me a full education on gin, I learned a lot and they seemed to be generous with "free tastings" for me to try different things. Try the drink with the crushed peppercorns if you like that sort of thing.

The restaurant in the lobby was great for brunch (expensive of course) but it was really good and hard to get a seat at on the weekend. I did not get a chance to try the highly reviewed restaurant on site.

TRANSPORTATION
There is a train line right outside of the hotel, right across the street. Which shouldn't be too noisy. The staff will basically walk you to it, even though it's right outside. I found that getting to the bar scene was easy from here, canal tours, etc, all easy. Your location is perfect here.

ROOMS
they were a little on the small side, and so super slick and modern in seem ways that it was even a little much for me ;) but spending time in my hotel room is not why I travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate the fine comments you make about our staff and the service they provide, and we will certainly share this with the whole team. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    128
    38
    23
    12
See reviews for
104
334
44
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got this hotel at a very good night for the 3 nights we were their - the service is what you would expect at the balmoral hotel in edinburgh - everything was perfect and the staff are clearly well train to a very high standard nothing was ever a problem ..... one member of staff overheard me complaining to my partner that i wish there was brown sauce and they literally offered to buy some at a shop across the road .. gobsmacked

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time during your stay! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very nice hotel, but still needs to do a couple of things to make it truly remarkable.

Positive points:
Very nice and helpful staff
Beautiful location
Nice rooms
Great bathroom (very roomy, separate rain shower) although the sink is a little unpractical and the room got very warm.
Bar was nice, but did not live up to the hype
Loved the fact that they had a Saturday morning running group (although quite late, I would have wanted it earlier).

Negative points:
No hotel bikes were available for rent and rather than arranging for other bikes we were pointed in the direction of a hire shop which meant that we had to factor in time and effort to return the bikes.
Apparently a strict policy of not allowing people to park their bikes in the hotel driveway. Annoying, especially when you wanted to rent a hotel bike (which surely I would have been allowed to park in the driveway)
I would have liked to have been able to open a window in my room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed though to hear about the challenges you have faced regarding the bike rental. I can assure you that this is not the kind of service we aim to provide. We have addressed the issue with our host department, to ensure that we will provide you with the right and professional service in the future.

May you visit the hotel again, please inform us about your room preferences and we would be more than happy to assist you in finding the perfect room type. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Looks stunning and in a fabulous location. Rooms are very noisy - I was moved several times......first from 1 floor above a tram junction and then 1 floor above the atrium. The noise is spectacular. Electrics in the room were complicated and often didn't work ...... To turn all lights off you have to go down stairs, not use a switch by the bed! Service at reception, the lobby bistro and lobby bar area was very poor ...... No-one seemed to care very much. The spa was comical. Screaming kids for most of the day, 6 loungers and a few arm chairs and the steam room was out of order. Again looked great......! Overall good place to go for a drink but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us notice of your experience during your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality and service you deserve, but we appreciate your honesty. Your comments regarding areas for improvement will help us to continually enhance the guest experience.

We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the relaxation experience of our Akasha Spa. Because we also like to give our junior visitors the possibility to visit Akasha, we have set a special daily opening hour for children, which you can find in our guest directory. We are very sorry that you were not informed about this. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope you will come back for an improved experience.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no doubt that this is the best quality, new property in town with exclusive fittings in the rooms. Most of the staff were very friendly as well. However, we were there just 12 hours on an exhausting business trip, and only got one hour of sleep!! Do not get put into a lof room! The bed sits just outside the bathroom door on the upper level and the bright light under the the large bathroom vanity does not turn off - period. The doors are all glass and while they are boldly tinted, the light does come through. Making matters worse, there is a window in that bathroom so the light shines out to the downstairs part of the loft as well so you have even more light upstairs. When we complained at 11:30 when going to bed the operator told us that there was a sensor and it would shut the light off, or she offered to have an engineer come look at it - too tired and too late for that, we declined. At check out, the front desk staff was sincerely sorry and requested the manager. Based on her response, she was obviously well trained to dodge the problem and acted surprised and puzzled. I suggest that she stay in that room for the night. Finally, we were told that the light stays on all the time for safety reasons - don't they know about motion sensors. As condolence, they offered me 10% off a 705 euro room. This added insult to injury, I could care less about 10%. what would have been correct was to give you a voucher to try the hotel again with a free night. I sleep one hour out of my 6 hour sleep time, that is not 10%!

To summarize, the property is beautiful. Do not stay in the loft!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a loft room!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are very sorry to hear about the problems you have encountered during your stay. Our bathroom lighting is indeed connected to a sensor and should switch of automatically after three minutes. We regret that this was not the case during your past, but for any future visits please be advised that we have resolved this issue immediately after your departure.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and we truly hope you will give our hotel another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a beautifull building. The weather was extremely bad so we staid in the hotel for 24 hours enjoying the spa, the delicious restaurant Tunes. The room, a suite with 2 great bathrooms, everything was well thought of. A good mix of the old building with very modern rooms. Our room overlooked the lobby which was fun. It is quiet expansive but absolutely worthwhile. Breakfast in the brasserie was very good. I would just have liked the price of the breakfast to be included in the room price. It just does not feel right to pay 540 euro a night not including breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

this is one the nicest hotels in europe in the middel of the cultural center of amsterdam.the mixture of the old bank building and the modren desine have acheived wonderful results a very warm cosy hotel which give you a feeling of a warm wellcome.the rooms are very nice teh brasserie and the tunes restaurant are great experience. wortha visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, Guest Relations Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate your fine comments regarding your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of our property and would love to welcome you again back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.