We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay if you're in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The only place to stay if you're in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had dinner at this hotel last night since a friend of mine was staying here. I live close by so I didn't sleep there myself, but since I was so impressed I just needed to put this on here. The atmosphere of the hotel is above and beyond anything else out there. Normally when I really want to sleep in the city I would stay in the Kraznapolsky on the damn, or Marriott around Leidscheplein but this is definately three levels above that. Staff was very nice and helpfull- though sometimes they seemed a little bit nervous/inexperienced, but there was a lot of personal attention and service. The design of the hotel is super awesome, with a lot of luxury high end finishes. it feels a lot like the international "W" hotels chain. Everything was very clean. My friend had one of the duplex suites which were very spacious and even though he was on the street side of the hotel- the room was quiet. The hotel is very trendy and probably not really suited for business travelers. If u get the chance, check out the waygu steak in their restaurant. it's perfection. Room prices are very competitive and I would recomend this hotel over any other hotel in AMS right now if you're into a trendy, hip, luxurious, singles/romantic kinda sta.

Room Tip: get one of the duplex suites. it's worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your positive feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share this with us. We are delighted to hear your enthusiasm about the design and service of our hotel and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    90
    32
    20
    9
See reviews for
62
241
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently had the great pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Conservatorium Hotel for my girlfriend's 30th birthday - I booked it as a surpise! It needed to be fantastic for such an occasion and the hotel, Etan and his team certainly delivered, and some - we had an amazing time. I have never written a review on here but i feel i should given some of the bad reviews on here which are completely undeserved.

I let the hotel know in advance that the visit was for my girlfriend's 30th birthday and that it needed to be special and they pulled out all the stops, working really hard to make it so. They not only upgraded our duplex room to a suite, but gave us a discount on spa treatments and even delivered a cake on her birthday and a little wind up music player which played happy birthday! They were also extremely helpful in recommending many restaurants and things to do in Amsterdam.

If you like design, dont worry about any reviews on here, just go, you will be stunned at the beauty of the place. The rooms, conservatory, spa, bar and restaurant, all super beautiful and seriously cool. Its difficult to explain, but the hotel has a wonderful air of calm, its a sanctuary. Although Amsterdam has so much to offer it really is very tempting to spend your time in there. The spa especially is amazing (2 floors underground) - huge, beautiful and very peaceful. The treatments are fantastic - try the private hammom......

I chatted to a few of the locals about the hotel, and they all said that this was by far the best hotel in Amsterdam, they seem very proud to have it.

The only slight frustrations I can think of were, we ordered 2 glasses of prosecco on room service whiile in the bath...the guy brought up a bottle by mistake, but instead of just pouring the 2 glasses ordered and taking the rest away so as not to disturb us again, he went away and came back with just the 2 glasses ordered and a new receipt, which meant I had to get out of the bath twice and we waited for around 40 minutes...which kind of spoilt the mood a bit! And sometimes room service didnt answer the phone, so maybe they need more people down there (im sure they were very busy as the hotel was full). However these are the only very small negatives in an amazing stay, and not something I would worry about. I think the negative reviews on here are people looking for problems. To be honest, in my opinion it is better for the hotel that these grumpy people dont go as they will ruin the very cool vibe of the place for the rest of us! I have stayed at the Ritz in London for example and I would choose the Conservatorium every time.

Etan and his team were outstanding, very helpful and always smiles and very pleased to help. They are very lucky to work in such a place! They were also very human, unlike in some 5 star hotels. Thanks guys for making my girlfriend very happy, she really was bowled over! If anyone is considering booking a hotel for a special occassion, I really couldnt recommend it more. We hope to come back one day!

Thanks guys you did a superb job, it was definitely a birthday that wont be forgotten!!

Nick

Room Tip: Duplex Suite was outstanding. Fantastic views. There is no noise at all from the trams outside (as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Nick,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are honored you chose the Conservatorium hotel for this special celebration, and we are delighted to hear it was such a success. We are also happy to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate the fine compliments you make about our host team. We thank you for your warm recommendation, and are looking forward to welcome you and your girlfriend back at the Conservatorium hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The renovation of the old Amsterdam Conservatorium building is outstanding. The modern additions to the more than 100 year old building are a succes - the glass lobby and brasserie with internal greenhouse are absolutely beautiful- and old details are left intact. The minimalist rooms have high-tech comfort while keeping the allure of the historic building (wooden floors and original beams at 7th floor). Perfectly located opposite Amsterdam's main museums and cultural attractions, and around the corner from main shopping streets, restaurant and bars, the Conservatorium hotel is an excellent choice if you're visiting this city. With a spa (open until 11pm!), swimming pool, gym, shops and restaurants, the hotel offers the interantional standards that you don't easily find in other Dutch accommodations.
Our room was spacious and quiet, very well isolated. You do hear the ventilation system working though, and the room doesn't get 100% dark. Also another tip, if you don't see well, keep your glasses at hand, as the light buttons (altough state of the art) are kind of difficult to handle if you can't read small letters :-)
Unfortunately, when the General Manager promises a truly "Dutch experience" in her welcome letter, she's not lying. The service remains Dutch and lacks the quality of international 5-star hotels. After checking in, our "host" brought us to our room, which turned to be not the one we booked but a smaller one with no bathtub (how comes a 5-star hotel has rooms without a bathtub?). At that point our host turned rather grumpy, as he wasn't amused by his check-in colleague mistake, so he asked us to go back to the lobby, where he left us to change rooms. We finally got the right room, but we never saw our host again...
The dinner reservation went wrong also. The girl that took our reservation told us they were busy with the planning and she would call us back to confirm if the time requested was available. Of course, she never called again, but knowing the Dutch, we decided to show up anyway and let the new girl in charge solve the situation.
All in all, great weekend at the Conservatorium, just a pitty to confirm yet again that Dutch still have so much to improve in hospitality.

Room Tip: High floors (7 or 8) offer a nice view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the design of our building. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Akasha Spa, and that the location in the museum district was to your liking.

We strive to meet the guest’s expectations. Unfortunately we have not been able to show this to you during your recent stay, as you indicated in your comment. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this disappointing experience. We very much appreciate your feedback and this will certainly assist us in improving our standards and services.

We would really appreciate if you could give us another chance to welcome you back to the Conservatorium hotel. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly for future reservations.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

great location in the hart of amsterdam south, with all the musea around, concerthall and shoppingstreets (pchooftstraat)
when I was a student I worked like 2 weeks in the summer in this building as before it was
the conservatorium , it was the rijkspostspaarbank (saving & loan from the state) but it
changed a lot, it is real worth wile to see .
we booked via design hoteld website and when we looked 1 week before they offered it like
€ 40 cheaper and design hotel offer best rate guaranteem so I emailed the hotel and we
got an upgraded duplex room, which was beautifull, with 2 bathrooms etc etc
we asked for a 2 o'clock check-out as friend would visit us at 1.30 and so we could show them
our room, but that was too difficult for the staff. They had to ask the manager, who was standing next to them and after 10 minutes waiting, it was still impossible. First time that
a hotel didnot grand me 1 hour later check-out and didnot had a full house.

Room Tip: you can take a front room as you donot hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your room and the design of the building. We apologize for the concerns you had with the late check-out, this is certainly not the kind of service we strive to provide. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillerød
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice, the staff seemed to be new at the job and not professionelt trained.
The follow everybody to the room, when you check in.
Thats to much.
We stay in the top floor and it was a new floor. ( they still built on the floor)
We stayed in the weekend so there was no construction noise there.
But the walls in the room are so thin, that you can hear everything through them.
You can not open the windows, so you can get fresh air. That is very bad.
You cannot turn of the aircondition.
And there is light on the toilet under the zink that you can't turn off, so you have light from the toilet during the night.
When we come back to the room the second day, house keeping have been in and cleaned the room.
But there was still crumbs on the floor from breakfast and we dont get new towels.
They did not even change your bed sheets, that was very dissapointing on a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. It is our standard to accompany our guests to their room and to show them the room’s features.

We have noted the problems you had with the air-conditioning. I am happy to inform you that we are working on a technical instruction card which will soon be in the rooms, and which will make it more easy for our guests to operate the technical devices. Likewise, we have noted your comment on the bathroom lighting and will certainly address this issue.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We can assure you that our focus is on the training of our colleagues, to ensure that they provide you with the right and professional services. Although we have not been able to meet your expectation, we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Conservatorium hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The place is amazing the rooms are great and the location is prime.
service was good too , except for the front desk/reservation at check in (very confused).
we asked a few times before arrival for 2 rooms with king bed, we asked for it again at check in once we saw the room had twin bed, and only the third time at 3pm that day they started to find a room with king bed.
The concierge as well had to be asked three times for a restaurant reservation.
and it have been great if they could offer free bicycle use, we saw they just got them as we left. but I hope should have at least 40 bikes so guest will never be refused.
that is a big part of the charm of Amsterdam as you know (maybe kids bikes as well?)
The spa treatments were great, excellent decor and facilities.great therapists.
Again the spa front desk service should improve , they changed things without notice and could take more care for the guests.
The acoustics should be dealt with as you can hear the people talking inside the treatments room.
The rooms are great amazing interior and very comfortable beds , high quality of linens and amenities.
Hope this hotel will improve and we will be happy to come again in the near future
as I said the overall experience of Amsterdam and the hotel was great.

Room Tip: duplex king bed with bath are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your room, and found our location in the Museum district to your liking. We do apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. Our team has been notified regarding the concerns you had with the service at the front desk and the acoustics in Akasha. We will take appropriate action to ensure you will have a better experience next time. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I used this hotel for business. I was given the grand corner room. Amazing! huge! nice TV, amazing bathroom, confortable bed, nespresso machine, free wifi. The building is gorgeous. They made sure they kept all the original features. The lobby/bar area has very high celing, very bright, excellent crowd, great service. The Restaurant, Tunes by Schilo was an incredible culinary experience. I was taking clients out and we all got the tasting menue. Something like 7 courses including Lobster Capuccino, waygu beef with hazlenut and other very sophisticated dishes. Music not too loud and service was excellent. I had a quick dip in the pool. you can actually have a proper swim as it is almost 25 meters long. Overall an amazing hotel, the rooms are big, high tech, with a magnificent bathroom. Restaurant is simply perfect, breakfast in the morning was also excellent. I cannot find a fault. Highly recommended. I will definitely go back with my wife :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful that you took the time to write this detailed review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. It is great to receive such positive feedback and we will pass your comments on to the various departments. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and are looking forward to welcome you and your wife back at the Conservatorium hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.