We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just spent 3 days at Conservatorium hotel in Amsterdam. We arrived from Paris with the Thalys. Journey was awful (terrible service and Amsterdam Grand Central Station is a joke) but it's only 15 minutes by taxi to the hotel (and it costs about 15 Eur).

We had booked a Corner suite and we were upgraded to a Conservatorium suite (1 level). Decor is quite minimalist, we just loved it. There is a big walk-in closet, large living area (but no dining table even if it was big enough to have one), and bedroom is accessed through double doors (study area in the bedroom). The suite was facing a quiet side street and noise insulation was perfect. Air con control is separate for living area & bedroom, it is a great idea. The bathroom was gorgeous with separate loo, double shower, two vanities and a big bathtub. Stone from the floor to the walls including the door, the design is beautiful. They just need to add hangers for towels, and to rethink some odd details (why hairdryer is in the walk-in closet at the entrance instead of the bathroom?).

Products are from l'Occitane. All curtains are electric and lighting controls are a bit complicated to understand. Last strange point: there are 2 phones in the bedroom but none in the living area.

Service was perfect. Staff is smiling, efficient. Check-in was fast, room-service also quick with good quality products. Concierge gave us good advice for restaurant.

The gym is located at basement (just under the restaurant) but there is still some natural light. The attendant was a nice young guy willing to help during work-out session. We didn't try the Spa but we went to the swimming pool (20m + jaccuzi). We had forgotten our swimwear but it was possible to buy one at 35 Eur.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special (buffet style except for eggs/ hot dishes).

It is not as central as de l'Europe, but the location close to top luxury boutiques and a few steps away from Van Gogh museum is excellent.

(Reservation was made through Amex and included 3pm late check-out and fast line entry tickets to VG museum.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read such a nice review of your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will find the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    100
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
70
265
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel for 8 nights.I really couldnt fault their service.The room was a duplex and could describe it as excellent.Two bathrooms and really pretty architect designed room.The lights control take a little bit to get use to and the bathrooms are heated through the mirrors ,must be the Italian architect.Tried the bar and Tunes restaurant.which are really first class.Will stay there again as long as the Australian dollar stays up!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and delighted to hear that you will visit us again in the future. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Kind regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

a great hospitality, service and excellent location. the food is great and they have a very cozy and class bar!

Room Tip: duplex are great to enjoy the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review on our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is stylish and for the most part so is the clientele. Tourists do not seem to be the client group that the hotel is designed or intended for. When I asked for a map of Amsterdam and where I could buy an IAMAMSTERDAM Card, I was greeted with surprise and only after some looking, did someone find a map. I was then directed to a location that required me to walk by the IAMAMSTERDAM store.

The rooms are clean and stylish, although learning how the lights work can be annoying. And not all of the lights in the bathroom can be turned off, so even with the bathroom door shut, light floods into the main room -- which isn't great for sleeping. The bathroom was simply amazing and the breakfast buffet provided a wide variety of very high quality choices.

I was impressed by an email that arrived two days ahead of my visit and asked if they could make any reservations for me. They also asked when I would arrive. Despite being told the time of my arrival, and the fact that I was arriving in the evening, my room was not ready, and for some reason my bags didn't make it to my room for almost 30 minutes and I had to call the front desk twice.

The service was inconsistent; one desk clerk was simply amazing and went out of her way to be pleasant and helpful, others seemed almost sullen. Very odd.

This hotel is likely great for business people, but lacks the warmth and helpfulness that distinguishes hotels that know how to deal with and be helpful to tourists. Which is too bad as the location is ideal and hotel amenities should make this an great place to spend several days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. Our team has been notified regarding the concerns you had with the service, and we will make every effort to overcome these issues. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Modern and trendy? Definitely. However, this hotel is still away from what they labelled themselves as high-end luxury. The way they incorporated a steel structure to a historical building and turned it into a hotel was really wonderful. We were told some of the rooms on the upper floor are still under construction. Fortunately, we were not disturbed by any noise during our stay.

We arrived Amsterdam at 6:30am. In order to make sure we have access to our room immediately, we booked the night before. When we arrived in the limousine arranged by the hotel, no one was at the door to greet us. The lady at the front desk was obviously not expecting our arrival and it took her longer than it should to locate our booking. May be it was still early in the morning, she did not make us feel welcome with her cool attitude. She requested us to confirm the rate without reviewing the details of our stay and quickly sent us off to our room with her colleague. We were not impressed at all. Overall the service throughout the hotel was just average except the hosts we met. Etan, David and Isabelle, they were all very nice and extremely helpful. We hope in time all staff at the hotel could be as professional as those three and offer the same high level of service.

We had the Duplex Suite and we love the simplicity of the design. However, the layout did not work for us. There were two bathrooms but there was only bathtub in the master bathroom on the upper level. We used shower only so we had to go downstair every morning to use the smaller second bathroom. The problem was that there was no power socket in that bathroom and we needed to get back to the upper floor after shower to use the hairdryer. We did not enjoy the frequent trip that we made between two floors. Wifi was available but login was required almost every time. It was free, so no complaint.

With all the natural light coming through the glass ceiling, the Brasserie was a lovely venue for breakfast. There was another restaurant called Tunes on the Arcade level. We were told it was fine dining but it was certainly not. The place was just too small for too many tables. Food was good but not memorable. Service was excellent. We love the arrangement of the lobby lounge with all the designer chairs. It was certainly a place to see and be seen in the evening.

We had treatments at the Spa. The massage my partner had was good but my facial was just average. Inside the Spa, there was a well equipped gym and we enjoyed our workout there. There was a trainer/attendant at the gym and we met 3 different guy during our multiple visits. One of them was friendly and came over to ask if we need help with our training. The other two just said hello and went back to his computer screen the whole time. There was also no bottle water. Plastic cups were available for guests to drink from the tap inside the gym. Even though the water is drinkable, a high-end luxury hotel will always have bottle water at the gym for guests. Furthermore, I did not know where to put my cup on the treadmill without causing the water to spill while I was using the machine.

To get from where they are right now to truly high-end luxury, service in general must be turned up a notch. They also need to pay more attention to every little detail that may contribute to the comfort and enjoyment of guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest here in the Conservatorium Hotel. We have taken note of your feedback and discussed it with all departments concerned. Your comments help us to improve our services and highlight the areas of training. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a really beautifully converted hotel, with many original features and lovely modern/older architecture around every turn.

I had a quiet room on the 5th floor. Thought it was spacious and comfortable if "over-designed":

1) they have tried to be too clever with the technology - there are buttons everywhere, yet a) the room curtains took around 50" to close and you had to press a button throughout, rather than just pressing it once to open or close; b) the bedside lights have touch sensors, which signally don't work very consistently - so you struggle to turn on/off the lights; c) there is a sensor which turns all the lights on and off when you walk in/out - unfortunately this also turned off the Nespresso machine and I couldn't figure out how to make this work; d) the bathroom TV didn't work.
2) the design is hardly functional - lovely bathroom, but the shower door leaked so there was water all over the floor; the doors to the bathroom and separate toilet have a thin strip protruding as a handle, and older arthritic fingers would struggle to pull open a heavy door...
3) thank you for the free wifi - but rather than just clicking through and logging on via cut and paste from a tablet or mobile phone, you have to copy down a long alphanumberic reference and then type it back in to your device to access...

The staff were generally efficient rather than warm. I didn't get the sense they'd go the extra mile if it were needed (and I wasn't asked on checkout if I'd enjoyed my stay or if there was anything that could be improved). They did send someone up to my room to show me how all the technology worked, which was much needed, even if the tech didn't always deliver as above.

This was a business trip so I briefly had a drink in the decent, atmospheric bar, and breakfast in the morning, which was fine.

All in all, it was a good, pretty expensive experience. It could be a great hotel (and it is very new, having been open for less than a year) if they can address the design & technology issues, and work on the staff warmth. Send them to Cape Grace in Cape Town to see how to do the latter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your detailed description of your experience. It is very much appreciated and it helps us to address the points you mentioned. We have discussed your feedback with all departments and will take action accordingly. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LHW, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, getaroom.com, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.