We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing building, good if not great service, technology too complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Amazing building, good if not great service, technology too complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a really beautifully converted hotel, with many original features and lovely modern/older architecture around every turn.

I had a quiet room on the 5th floor. Thought it was spacious and comfortable if "over-designed":

1) they have tried to be too clever with the technology - there are buttons everywhere, yet a) the room curtains took around 50" to close and you had to press a button throughout, rather than just pressing it once to open or close; b) the bedside lights have touch sensors, which signally don't work very consistently - so you struggle to turn on/off the lights; c) there is a sensor which turns all the lights on and off when you walk in/out - unfortunately this also turned off the Nespresso machine and I couldn't figure out how to make this work; d) the bathroom TV didn't work.
2) the design is hardly functional - lovely bathroom, but the shower door leaked so there was water all over the floor; the doors to the bathroom and separate toilet have a thin strip protruding as a handle, and older arthritic fingers would struggle to pull open a heavy door...
3) thank you for the free wifi - but rather than just clicking through and logging on via cut and paste from a tablet or mobile phone, you have to copy down a long alphanumberic reference and then type it back in to your device to access...

The staff were generally efficient rather than warm. I didn't get the sense they'd go the extra mile if it were needed (and I wasn't asked on checkout if I'd enjoyed my stay or if there was anything that could be improved). They did send someone up to my room to show me how all the technology worked, which was much needed, even if the tech didn't always deliver as above.

This was a business trip so I briefly had a drink in the decent, atmospheric bar, and breakfast in the morning, which was fine.

All in all, it was a good, pretty expensive experience. It could be a great hotel (and it is very new, having been open for less than a year) if they can address the design & technology issues, and work on the staff warmth. Send them to Cape Grace in Cape Town to see how to do the latter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your detailed description of your experience. It is very much appreciated and it helps us to address the points you mentioned. We have discussed your feedback with all departments and will take action accordingly. Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    94
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
67
250
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The location is great, very close to Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh museum and only a couple of min walk away from the centre w it's canals.

The building is historical and has been restored in a breathtaking way. Even sitting in the lobby is pleasant.

Stayed here for business meaning I can't rate the spa nor the restaurants as we went out for lunch &dinner.

Rooms are perfect at first sight. Comfortable bed, great multi media surround system.as I stayed here alone, room was spacious enough but I doubt it might be the case when you travel with another person.
Bathroom was ok w a very good shower.
What really disturbed me (much more than an incomplete mini bar) was the noise at night, coming from the airco system. I put it out, didn't help. Eco modus, no help either. It was really unpleasant and it made it difficult to feel into sleep. For a hotel this is not what I expect and certainly not in a 5 star hotel.

Wifi works well and public parking close to the hotel is very handy.

Having stayed at 5 star hotels I can assure they have the potential to get there but for such a price and expecting 5star comfort, I must say I expectes that little extra touch which makes you forget about the price you paid.

Nevertheless a very good address and I hope they will evolve by walking that final extra mile which makes it top class

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to know you have enjoyed the design of the building. Your comments help us to improve our services and form the basis for the training of our colleagues. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautifully restored building, simple yet classy rooms, lobby with a very soothing atmosphere and very pleasant staff. Room and bathroom very spotlessly clean. Especially the bathroom is beautifully designed and furnished - loved the huge rain shower and sitting on the wooden stool in the shower after a long day at work felt like heaven on earth. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Fast check in but then we had a group booking and our details were already in the system so that might have helped. Nice touch was how a person was assigned to you during check in who would walk you to your room and show you how everything operates in the room (lights and shades...). Breakfast was good though we saw no warm food on selection, we were a bit shy so never asked and only on our last day when we were rushing to the airport we found out that there is a menu for warm breakfast but you have to ask for it but this was not any major problem. The choice of food for breakfast was very nice even without eggs/bacon... For me the reason why 4 points and not 5 is the noise in the room - I stayed on the 7th floor (lovely view!) but the first night I got up twice from my bed to check if my windows were really closed. The noise from the trams from the street below was that strong. I would recommend rooms facing the side street with no trams or facing the atrium.

We had dinner once in the brasserie - it was okay nothing impressive though. However, colleagues spoke highly of the Tunes restaurant so next time I will try to test it out. The bar was very pleasant - great drinks, again very good service but strangely it was almost empty most of the evening.

Other than that a really beautiful and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms facing the side street with no trams or facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

How wonderful to read such a nice review of your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. May you visit the hotel again, please inform us about your room preferences and we would be more than happy to assist you in finding the perfect room. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a great addition to the Amsterdam scene great loction, accomodation, food and service and despite being notoriously mean the Amsterdamer's are there too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went for dinner at Conservatorium Hotel, at the brasserie. It has a fantastic experience. The menu selection was broad and complete (we took the sole which was awesome), the quality is good, the portions are good, the atmosphere is sophisticated, the service is very pleasant (which is not that easy to find in Amsterdam) and overall, the price was reasonable considering the Amsterdam standards!!! The design is really impressive with the high ceilings and the combination of glass and cristal...beautiful! We also visit the bar, which is very chic! The only regret is that isnt bigger!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very thankful that you took the time to write this beautiful review on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the Brasserie, and hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business. It is a stunning building and they have done amazing work to ensure every aspect of original and new buildings blend in. The architecture is so impressive that you hope for a great experience. The lobby is cool and a nice place for a cup of tea or informal meeting. The gym is lovely and well equipped. The rooms are duplex split level and very funky and on first look appear great. The upside is the bed is comfortable, the wifi is free and the shower is good. However the air con is woeful. It only works in the upstairs part by the bed so downstairs by the desk, sitting area and bathroom is stifling and hot. The pillows are either so soft they are paper thin or so bouncy its like laying on a trampoline. When I asked to change them I was told that was it, inspire of a 'pillow menu' in the room. The storage and lay out is a disaster with plugs for thehairdryer next to the sink! And hardly any handing space and no drawers. Finally the safe lost power on morning of checkout and the delay getting it opened meant i was late for a meeting. The service in every aspect was poor and slow and generally lacked care. We tried to book an evening trip only to be told by the time they had called 8hrs after asked to, it was sold out. A table at a restaurant was booked for the wrong time and we lost the table. Generally every request to reception or a host was seen as a nuisance. The breakfast drinks took ages to arrive as did the evening after dinner tea. My suspicion is they currently trade on the beauty Of the hotel and it's history. However most business travellers in particular value good service and functionality. As a regular traveller I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the feedback on your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. We take your comments very serious, and have discussed these with all departments concerned. We are continuously training our colleagues, to ensure that they provide our guests with the right and professional service. We sincerely hope you will give our hotel a second chance. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, HotelsNL, Otel, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.