We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservatorium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conservatorium Hotel to your Saves list
Conservatorium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My daughter and I spent a weekend at this excellent first class design hotel. We booked a "three night pay for two" but even got upgraded to a fantastic suite. The interior of the whole hotel is superb, a mixture of Hogwarts with the best from the world of fine European design. The room was beyond words. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the both the breakfast buffé and dinner at the bistro was first class. And the location rigth next to the Rijks and Van Gogh Museum is great. A must if you can afford it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you and your daughter have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We would love to welcome you again here in the Conservatorium Hotel.

Warm regards,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    106
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
283
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Optimal solution in the center of Amsterdam, ideal for business trips or visiting the city and its museums. A modern hotel, interesting for its architecture. We received an upgrade to a higher room category, pastries and a welcome gift on check in. Our suite was very spacious on two floors, with excellent finishing and a young, modern decor, two bathrooms in the room, both with excellent finishing, precious marbles out of the shower and separate tub. Great breakfast. A hotel to relax and be pampered. Staff very polite and helpful
My Rating:

Service 8
Rooms 10
Food & Beverage 7
Spa & Fitness 7
Attention to Detail 9
Generosity & Value 8
Wow / Hip Factor 9
Architecture & Design 10
Location 10
Fit to Promise 9

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a newly opened hotel which is currently suffering from far too many teething problems. It has the potential to be be very good - it is located opposite the Van Gogh Museum and close to the Rijks Museum, so should be an excellent base for a cultural stay in Amsterdam. But at this stage the guest experience is poor.

In a year's time they will hopefully:

- have finished the building works currently going on both outside and inside the hotel
- addressed the problems with the Internet, the over complex lighting systems in the rooms and the air conditioning.
- improved mobile coverage throughout the hotel (it is problematic in the internal facing rooms)
- worked out that at this price many guests will expect a bath in their bathroom (which unfortunately is not the case in many of the rooms)
- addressed the very bad noise issues in the rooms. The noise levels from the passing trams are too high for a good nights sleep in rooms facing in that direction and the sound proofing needs to be improved. In addition, as a result of the bedroom floors being wooden with no rugs the ambient noise from other rooms is high.
- addressed the poor service and unappetizing buffet at breakfast.
- brightened up some of the rather gloomy staircases and corridors in this converted bank building.

It wasn't all bad. The food at the restaurant was very good and I heard good reports of the spa. The lobby design is contemporary and original. The beds are very comfortable. But for the time being I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. With guest comments like these we are given inside information and the opportunity to continuously improve our services and facilities. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed our restaurant Tunes and the design of the hotel. Furthermore I can assure you we have taken your mentioned points very serious, and will do our utmost to overcome these issues. We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Located in the centre of art, history and shopping on "AAA +" with all the comfort a hotel/restaurant cab give his guests. We sat some time in the lougne and did enjoy the offerd drinks and snacks and at the end of the day we had dinner in the "Brasserie". The food was of outstanding quality, the wines perpectly climatised, the service super and all with a smile and a friendly word. We did feel WELCOMe in capitals!! Our next stopover in Amsterdam will include a visit at Conservatoruim Hotel/Restaurant!! In the near future all the renovations will be completed and then Amerstam will have a top class place to be for those who know to enjoy quality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Hereby I would like to thank you for your kind words about the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy you have enjoyed the service and comfort of our hotel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This review is about the Conservatorium Brasserie & Lounge within the Conservatorium Hotel. Yesterday I came there for the second time. The venue is gorgeous: well designed and well decorated. The staffmembers are welcoming and sympathatic but still lack professionality despite the fact they try their best. The wine you ordered is being forgotten to serve so you have to ask for a second time. The breadbasket is not being refilled "automatically", so you also have to ask to do so. But the worst experience was the chowder I ordered as luncheon dish. Just having spent one week in Ireland where they serve delicious fish and seafood, I felt tempted to order the Zeeland Chowder having got to know the "chowder experience" in Ireland. Chowder is a delicious fishsoup. Kind of "bisque"' strong stock of seafoood richly filled with fish. Well the chowder of the Conservatorium Brasserie has nothing to do with it. When the waiter put it on my table I made the remark that I had not ordered asparagus veloute since my plate looked exactly the same as the one of my neighbour who was eating that soup. No, was the reply of the waiter: it was chowder. Well the creamy substance had nothing to do with the stock that should be the basis of chowder. And more over: the filling even less. It consisted of cubes of patatoe (!)' cubes of salmon and a few clams. I also did not see the reference with the Dutch province of Zeeland which is famous of its mussels and oysters. A double disapointment. I cant believe that famous cook Schilo van Coevoorden wants his name to be connected with this "chowder".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHENES
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

There are no words to describe the feeling of ouaou! you have when you enter this amazing hotel -the old conservatorium of the town inserted in a totaly new modern construction, by a talented italian architecte, from glace and iron! What your eyes see around is absoloutely beautiful, interesting, revolousionary and elegant! Also the service of this 5 stars hotel, is the best I have met in my life. Everything you ask is possible for them, with a warm deep understanding from their heart. You feel being with friends, not in a hotel. The rooms are fabulous! Small mezonetta of two floors! And also, breakfast and food in the "Brasserie" is from the very highest quality, fresh, in big variety and adequate for people they want to eat healty and exclusivelly! Definatelly I will go again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for these kind words about the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,

Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

There are some things that anyone currently considering this hotel should be aware of that I do not think are made clear on the website. Firstly, the hotel is NOT finished. There are countless communal rooms/areas that are still concrete boxes with wires hanging around from power points etc. including the business centre, and a number of other communal rooms off the lobby. My bedroom was very nice, but the telephone in the main living space didnt work at all, and the phone in the bedroom had a very bad buzzing sound so I had to use the one in the loo. I overheard another customer at reception warning the receptionist that in his room one of the power sockets was a health risk as it had not been correctly installed. The spa was fine, sauna amazing, but the hammam was not available for use, and the jacuzzi had no bubbles. I ordered room service one morning, and the food took an hour. I was offered free apple juice and the food was very nice. However, I had lunch in the brasserie, and ordered a Rib Eye steak medium rare. In my opinion if a chef cannot cook a steak correctly there is a big problem, never mind in a FIVE STAR hotal for 26 Euros. First it was medium, so I sent it back, then it came back BLUE. I ate it as I couldnt be bothered to complain further, but this is very very poor. I was offered complimentary tea as apology, but nothing was removed from the bill.
This hotel has clearly been opened too early in order to start raking in money. It has lovely elements, and when it is all complete and the chef and staff are all properly trained it will be I am sure very nice. But the point is that I paid full prices (and very hefty prices) for a hotel that is far far from ready. I would strongly recommend AGAINST anyone going to this hotel yet until it has been completed. As I have come away disappointed on the whole.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,
Hartelijk dank voor de tijd die u genomen heeft om uw feedback betreffende uw verblijf in het Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam met ons te delen. Wij vinden het erg vervelend om te horen dat uw eerste kennismaking over het algemeen teleurstellend is geweest.
Uw terugkoppeling stelt ons in staat onze service en kwaliteit te optimaliseren. Inmiddels hebben wij uw aanmerkingen met de verantwoordelijke afdelingen besproken en zij zullen er zorg voor dragen dat deze worden aangepakt. Tijdens uw verblijf kunt u ons te allen tijde op de hoogte te stellen van tekortkomingen in de kamer zodat wij u van dienst kunnen zijn met het bieden van oplossingen.
Wij zien u graag als tevreden gast van het Conservatorium Hotel en hopen dan ook dat u ons een tweede kans wilt geven om onze faciliteiten en service te ervaren. Indien wij u daarbij van verdere assistentie kunnen zijn dan vernemen wij dit graag van u.
Met vriendelijke groet,
Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conservatorium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservatorium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.